Using iPod Touch with 5a345 on a Linux computer

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X' started by JacobE, Jul 1, 2008.

1. JacobE

JacobE New Member

Hi, I'm new to all of this iPod touch/iPhone jailbreaking and such, so please forgive me if my questions are stupid or already asked.

I have an iPod touch with firmware version 2.0 (5a345) on it. It was given to me by someone who had legitimate access to the firmware, so it wasn't put on via jailbreaking, it was put on via legitimate means. However, I almost wish that it had the old OS on it, because, from what I gather, there is no way to transfer music to 2.0 from linux, which is what I run on my computer. I have read that if I had a jailbroken ipod, it is possible to transfer music to my ipod, but I know that although it is possible to jailbreak 2.0 using pwnage, there are no apps for it.

Do I need any app to transfer music to my iPod? Is it at all possible to transfer music to it from linux?

Again forgive me for being a total noob, but please explain to me how/if I can do this, because I would really like to put my music on my iPod.
  2. Teslanaut

Teslanaut Well-Known Member

Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I have 5A308 but would love 5A345 x]

But anyhoo, have you tried installing iTunes via Wine? I've heard some people being able to transfer music that way.

On Linux, to transfer music the native way, you need SSH, but since 2.0 isn't jailbroken, you're kinda screwed :\

So, either install Windows on a separate Partition just for music or Wine it.
  3. personman

personman Active Member

Device:
    iPhone 5S
    Um.... Leave it on 5a345. Go on AIM. My AIM is gadgetsILV I'lll tell u everything u need 2 know.
  4. Teslanaut

Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Like you know how to transfer music to the device via Linux. Way to publicize your AIM SN gadgetsboyj, err I mean, Personman

Please Register or Log in to view images

5. personman

personman Active Member

Device:
    iPhone 5S
    I am typing from linux now.