Using Disk Space as RAM

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by Angelic, Apr 8, 2008.

1. Angelic

Angelic New Member

Alright,

If you didn't already know, I'm an MIT student majoring in Computer Science. I'm currently working on the Quake 3 project.

Anyway, I was sitting around the other day and wondered "The iPod Touch uses Flash Memory instead of a spinning disk. So why couldn't we use that as RAM, and make the touch a bit more fluent?"

I'm still wondering. If anyone else is interested, I'm going to see if I can do just that. It would basically function as a Linux Swap partition (or, for you Windows users, a ReadyBoost partition and/or Paging File), allowing you to run many, many more programs that you currently can, without draining battery. (It wouldn't drain the battery because the disk does not have to spin, it is simply accessed because it's flash).

Let me know what you think.
    2 people like this.
  2. tian_kr

tian_kr New Member

sounds damn good
  3. Puredudes

Puredudes New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    so basiccly we will be able to run more programs and will the ipod run faster than with less lagg?
  4. [AFX]

[AFX] Well-Known Member

if you are talking about a RAMDisk, I'm definetly down for that.
  5. simonrichards150

simonrichards150 New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    So is the point to allow applications to use more RAM than is physically available?

If so, great, but you mentioned ReadyBoost. Theres not much point to that as in this case the storage disk is the same speed as the flash memory, because obviously its all flash memory, so I don't see where the speed increase will come from.

EDIT: Having read below post, I think this is a genius idea.

Please Register or Log in to view images

6. Angelic

Angelic New Member

Pretty much. I mean, think about it. What is RAM on a computer but flash memory? And what does the iPod store data on? Flash memory. So the process will go sorta like this: