iOS 3.1 Using blackra1n on ipt3....

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by ageis1, Oct 11, 2009.

  1. ageis1

    ageis1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Could someone who has successfully jailbroken the iPod touch 3g please provide a tutorial on how to install it properly? I have read that you need to run blackra1n twice? I know that there is already a tutorial on the forum, but it would be great to get some directions specifically for the 3rd gen iPod touch

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    Thanks
  2. Sups

    Sups New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    well I got it jailbreaking for some time now.. I can tell you how I did it..

    Pluggen in my ipod, downloaded blackra1n.
    Started the blackra1n program.. and I let it ra1n.. my ipod would reboot and some strange things etc.. just wait untill you can see your normal screen like the unlock screen or just your normal screen!
  3. ageis1

    ageis1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Thanks a lot for the response!
    So you only needed to run blackra1n once, let it do its thing, and it's jailbroken?
  4. x.relentless.x

    x.relentless.x New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    i ran it once worked but cant get custom themes working
  5. titad

    titad New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    will this work on ipt 8gb that comes with 3.1.1 firmware?
  6. theflexxxman

    theflexxxman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    its tethered there a FAQ on it if you dont know what it means. thats the reason i am staying away
  7. ojpd

    ojpd New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    No it won't.
  8. ageis1

    ageis1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Just jailbroke my 64gb 3g iPod touch, here is exactly what I did:
    1) Plugged in the iPod Touch to the computer (I closed iTunes when it opened)
    2) Started the blackra1n exe.
    3) At this point the picture of geohot came onto my ipod screen along with a loading wheel. I let it load for about 10 seconds when iTunes popped up telling me that I would need to restore my iPod touch. I didn't press anything, and just let program load. after about another 20 seconds my iPod rebooted and took me to the lock screen. blackra1n had successfully installed to my iPod 3g!

    Hope this helps anyone in doubt...
  9. fighter_felix

    fighter_felix Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    -from geohot's twitter

    so what does he mean by this?
  10. deadlyvirus

    deadlyvirus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    He means you have to run it twice. once to jailbreak and once to boot.

Share This Page