Using an iPod Touch in a hotel?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by ParadoxFOREVER, Dec 21, 2008.

  1. ParadoxFOREVER

    ParadoxFOREVER New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll be going to the Hilton Hotel in Sydney soon (http://www.hiltonsydney.com.au/) and was wondering, If I could use my iPod touch in there? They supply Wireless Wifi and Wired internet via Ethernet port.
    How do you connect? Will I be able to download as much as I want?
  2. MrFairladyz

    MrFairladyz Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    using wifi. it will have a wireless network (settings, wifi or watever)

    then pick the one that says hilton or something liek that. u will know what to do.
  3. ParadoxFOREVER

    ParadoxFOREVER New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've heard stories that they don't allow mobile devices to access their wireless network?

    And obviously they won't allow you to download Gigabytes worth of files so how do they stop you from doing that?
  4. fear_2670

    fear_2670 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think they can, specially with an iPod.
    If a laptop can access, so can an iPod/iPhone
  5. Spyke123

    Spyke123 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    hmm the only problem is if it needs a password. But if they say they have it i guess you can go ask the staff or whatever. be CAREFUL. Some places charge you after only a couple of minutes!
  6. ParadoxFOREVER

    ParadoxFOREVER New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hope so! But check out this thread?
    http://www.ifans.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7789

    That'd be really gay... seriously...
  7. fear_2670

    fear_2670 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, he did have a problem, but he never mentioned that his laptop would connect but not his iPod.
    meaning that the signal in GENERAL was bad/not working.
    You got nothing to worry about, Wi-Fi on a laptop works the same as in iPod.
  8. ParadoxFOREVER

    ParadoxFOREVER New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for clearing it up for me

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  9. sjleworthy

    sjleworthy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    easy solution - give the hotel a ring and ask them. i do it all the time. why ask us when it's the hotel you need to ask?

    most places will oblige - i've not long returned from a cruise on a large ship, and quickly and easily hooked up to their on-board wi-fi. (a simple call to their on board tech. dept. sorted me out within seconds). costs a bit though. the costs might initially seem cheap, but you dont realise how long you stay online for

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. veeloc

    veeloc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    K so ipod has wifi, just like a computer, hotel has wifi, just like your house.
    so yes, it will connect.
    will you be able to use it? most hotels have you enter a code in a page when you enter safari or anything thing else that needs internet you need the code to use cydia, dtunes, or anything else. so make sure u enter the code in in safari.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    oh and some hotels do charge you, but just check the website itll say something like FREE Wi-Fi, and then u dont hav to pay...obviously...

Share This Page