Use volume rocker in app

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by willj12, Sep 6, 2009.

  1. willj12

    willj12 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Is it possible to use the volume rocker in an app, I have scoured the dev center but cannot find anything.
  2. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    It's actually incredibly easy. BUT, you will need to do this via a MobileSubstrate extension.

    Might I suggest creating an extension that hooks the methods and sends out a darwin notification for which your application can register. Once the notifications are received, do as you wish.
  3. Gershmer

    Gershmer Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    @willj12, do you mean as a control for the app, other than volume, 'cause if you do, iPod touch 1G users will kill you, if the app is actually any good.
  4. willj12

    willj12 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Hmmm that is a bit of a problem then, am I right in understanding that by using a MobileSubstrate extension my app would not be allowed on the app store?
  5. gojohnnyboi

    gojohnnyboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339
    Likes Received:
    55
    Not just that: it would be impossible.

Share This Page