Upgrading?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X' started by TheUnderDog, Jul 10, 2008.

  1. TheUnderDog

    TheUnderDog New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you upgrade to 2.0, or any other version for that matter, do you lose all your music, videos, and contacts? I mean, I know you'll lose your Apps, but what about the normal stuff?

    I've just been on version 1.1.1 this whole time, so I'm not really sure what happens when you upgrade. It sounds silly that Apple would remove all of it, but then again it would be weird if they didn't too.
  2. FunkyMonkey

    FunkyMonkey Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes all your music, videos, etc will be removed when you upgrade. However, just sync your iPod before you do it and just sync it back after you get 2.0.

    Make sense?
  3. drakness

    drakness New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Actually, if you're just upgrading all your information, music, etc. stays. But if you're touch is jailbroken all of your apps won't show up after the upgrade. They will still be on your ipod however, just unusable until you re-jailbreak.

    You will only loose files if you restore your ipod.
  4. Manic Nimrod

    Manic Nimrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    8,769
    Likes Received:
    149
    No, apple have stated that 2.0 will remove all media from the iPod/iPhone.
  5. fishscene

    fishscene New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have the source of this information?
  6. drakness

    drakness New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Really? o.0
    That's the first time I've heard that. I don't see why they would need to do that though???
  7. Pwnapple

    Pwnapple New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    The firmware is VERY different, unlike 1.x.x, they probably made some changes to how they store or encrypt your media or something like that.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page