Upgrading 2G OS to 3G OS?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by jedimasterkyle, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. jedimasterkyle

    jedimasterkyle Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Is it possible to upgrade a ipod touch 2G OS to an 3G OS? All I want is home screen wallpaper and multitasking but I dont have the money for a 3G touch so I was wondering if it was possible to change a 2G OS to a 3G?
  2. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    What? Just update to 4.0.
  3. jedimasterkyle

    jedimasterkyle Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    My 2G touch is already running 4.1. I just want home screen wallpapers and multitasking but I dont want to buy a 3G touch. Thats why im asking if it is possible to install the 3G touch OS on a 2G touch?
  4. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    No you can't. But you can jailbreak and enable those.
  5. dunuck

    dunuck Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    jailbreak and enable home-screen wallpapers and multitasking
  6. GazaIan

    GazaIan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5,975
    Likes Received:
    431
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    Multitasking and Wallpapers are disabled in iOS 4 for a reason...

    But you can still jailbreak and enable them.
  7. jedimasterkyle

    jedimasterkyle Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    so if by somechance, I found a site where I could download the 3G OS, i couldnt go into itunes, open up recovery mode and have my touch use that file?
  8. bobby681

    bobby681 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    You cannot put a firmware for a different device on your device.
  9. Steveice10

    Steveice10 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I had that same idea once, though it probably wouldn't work.

    I had heard of a program to force an ipsw onto your iDevice, and I was thinking that might work.
  10. b777forever

    b777forever Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,099
    Likes Received:
    344
    Device:
    iPhone
    That won't work, just wait for the jailbreak.

Share This Page