Upgrade to firmware 3

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by O-D-M, Jan 25, 2010.

  1. O-D-M

    O-D-M New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Hello

    I have an iPod 2G. But I like to update to version 3 firmware. Is it possible when I have firmware v3 to downgrade back again to firmware 2 and when I have firmware v3 is it possible to jailbreak it?

    Thanks!
  2. Jacob

    Jacob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    122
    Yes, it's possible to downgrade although I don't recommend it. And yes, you can jailbreak it with blackra1n RC2 or redsn0w 0.9 beta 3, update to 3.1.2 not 3.0.
  3. O-D-M

    O-D-M New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Thanks for the fast reply man! Ok, so I have to upgrade to 3.1 and then I can use Blackrain? And why do you not suggest to downgrade?

    Thanks!
  4. Jacob

    Jacob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    122
    Yes that's correct, 3.1.2. And I don't suggest it because the features in 3.1.2 are ten times better and it just isn't worth going back to something that's out of date, I never like doing it lol, always being the latest.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. O-D-M

    O-D-M New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Ah, I understand

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    . My bad.

    Thanks, if I have any problems I come back here! Awesome help!
  6. Jacob

    Jacob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    122
    Your welcome glad to help.
  7. O-D-M

    O-D-M New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Hello again

    Sorry for asking so many questions. But how can I make a backup of my v2 firmware? I want to create backup in case updating to v3 doesn't work. I already clicker with RMB at my iPod and then choose backup but that only makes a backup of my files not the firmware right? I also used Google but without any luck.

    Thanks again!

Share This Page