Updating my iPod, but...

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X Jailbreak' started by iMicky, Dec 23, 2008.

  1. iMicky

    iMicky New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    968
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Hi, I'm currently on 2.1 and it's jailbroken. However, I'm thinking about upgrading to 2.2. Can anyone guide me through how to do this without damaging my iPod?
    If I just upgrade will everything go ok or will I need to restore beforehand just incase something happens? Thanks.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    EDIT: I am going to be jailbreaking when I've upgraded, but I don't need help with that.
  2. bobby681

    bobby681 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I always restore before an update, just incase. But you should be fine just updating and then using quickpwn.
  3. Joe Rossignol

    Joe Rossignol Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,500
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    You can just update normally through iTunes to Firmware 2.2 and then run QuickPwn.
  4. motograter

    motograter New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. GR3G™

    GR3G™ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Restore first. You dont want anything going wrong while you Jailbreak.

    I always start clean.

    -Greg
  6. freemini

    freemini Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,656
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    update then restore then use quickpwn and pwn it! If you jailbreak without restoring it will be stuck on the apple logo on boot!
  7. iMicky

    iMicky New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    968
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Thanks everyone for the advice.
    I did it before anyone gave advice though, without restoring, and everything went fine. Next time I think I will restore though, just in case. Thanks!

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page