updating from 1.1.4 to 2.x.x

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X Jailbreak' started by ackery, Aug 17, 2009.

  1. ackery

    ackery New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    im currently on 1.1.4, i jailbroke it the day i got it, and now im looking to update to 2.x.x and dont really know which firmware gives me most options, but when i update i want to have it still jailbroken...

    so do i have to update to 2.x.x then jailbreak it again?
    or is there another way?
  2. Antonpup

    Antonpup Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Umm... sorry... you have to re-jailbreak it... or you can try to NOR flash it... but idk if that's possible with upgrades...

    Get.. 2.2.1 (latest one in the 2.x.x family)
  3. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Why don't you update to 3.0.......

    You will lose your jailbreak.

    Update to 3.0 then use redsn0w 0.8 to jailbreak.
  4. ackery

    ackery New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    im not really bothered, i was just wondering if there was a way of avoiding it; does this mean i lose all my apps i have on there already?

    edit: i havnt really followed, i will update to 3.0 then, i take it i'll lose all my apps and themes?
  5. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Yes. You will lose them.
  6. Antonpup

    Antonpup Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Okay.. i have a question... (And yes i know that upgrading makes all your data dissappear) but why when you press "Update" button.. you don't lose yor data? is it because they uprade with NOR?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. ackery

    ackery New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, if im going to lost them i dont wnat them to still be there, but useless, ill go update now, but will it delete them? or do i do it myself? if so how?
  8. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    You lose all your data when you upgrade to major firmware changes, such as 1.x.x to 2.x.x and 2.x.x to 3.x.x

    But then you will need to sync it all back.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    It will delete them itself. Just connect your ipod to iTunes and then press the update button. The 3.0 firmware costs $9.95.
  9. ipodtouchpwnd69

    ipodtouchpwnd69 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    2.x.x to 3.x.x most of the apps work the same because no major framework changes have been made unlike 1.x.x to 2.x.x apple didnt care if the apps didnt work from there but on 2.x.x to 3.x.x they care because their appstore would basicially start all over again if they didnt work on 3.0

Share This Page