updates on second hand iphone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by clinto84, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. clinto84

    clinto84 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    • Illegal/piracy-related discussions
    hey, i recently bought a second hand iphone and deleted everything the previous owner put on there except rock, cydia, [redacted] and catagories, i then downloaded all the apps i wanted from itunes on my acc with my password, yet EVERYTIME an update is available it tries to sign in with the previous owners acc details, im stumped at how to stop this? has anyone had the same problem? how do i fix it cause if i want to update the app i have to delete the app and reinstall it which is getting to be a HUGE pain in the ass, the iphone is one 3.1.2 and i dont want to restore as i dont want to lose the jailbreak, this problem is driving me insane!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! please help

    thanks
    clinton
  2. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    go to settings app then app store, log out from there. btw don't talk about [redacted] here piracy issues
  3. clinto84

    clinto84 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    iv logged out from his acc and into mine and downloaded my own from the app store but it still tries to use the previous owners log in and i cant figure out why.. ill try that anyway.. i dont use install+++ its just on there as the programs he left, he left about 150 games but because it always tries to update using his acc details i deleted everything thinking maybe one of his apps was causing it..

    also if i do a sync with the apps i previously had on my old iphone will it get rid of cydia, rock, catagories? i wanna try sync my apps and try that but im scared it will delete rock/cydia and i cant get them back
  4. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    itunes doesnt mess with JB stuff, so no it wont, all the music, vids, and apps will be deleted and replaced by your library.
  5. clinto84

    clinto84 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    ok tried loggin out in the settings > itunes thing, then logged back into my acc and it still tries to use his acc details.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    ok ill try sync my apps throught my itunes on the comp and go from there.. hope that works
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    still not having luck here. if anyone else has anything they think mite help PLEASE PLEASE post up
  6. stanleybridgeboy

    stanleybridgeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    Do a full restore.
  7. clinto84

    clinto84 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    is there a way to do a full restore and stay on 3.1.2? if i do a full restore ill be forced to 3.1.3 wont i? if so id rather put up with this till a untethered jb comes out for mc models as mine is untethered and is a mc model 3gs
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    if i go into settings and then reset all settings, or erase all content and settings will that stop the app store from trying to use the old owners details. for some reason some apps are updating on mine and how some on his itunes acc even tho ALL APPS were downloaded and installed and purchased off my acc.
  8. xXrkidXx

    xXrkidXx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,594
    Likes Received:
    129
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    im guessing Stu edited this because of a little "I" word?

    Yea, your kind of screwed. You can't do a full restore because it would force you onto 3.1.3.

    Go to Settings, Store, and see if you can sign out the old account. If you can, sign in with yours.

Share This Page