iOS 4.1 Unjailbreaking to 4.1

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by AudioJihad, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. AudioJihad

    AudioJihad New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Hey guys

    I've decided jailbreaking isnt for me and would like to keep my phone up to date via itunes as normal.

    I jailbroke with jailbreakme a month or so back and only really installed SBSettings, winterboard, changed lock sounds, open SSH and mobileterminal.

    I prefer to keep game saves, contacts, sms' etc but want to clean out all the files left behind by jailbreaking within the var folders.


    How do I go about this?



    I made a backup in itunes while jailbroken with only those installed, is this backup clean when unjailbroken if i fully restore before updating?
  2. Just_For_Now

    Just_For_Now Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Just restore normally on iTunes to 4.1 don't click upgrade though.
  3. AudioJihad

    AudioJihad New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Will this erase all of my legit content?
    Contacts/sms/game saves etc?

    If so, will restoring from my current backup (while jailbroken) after I restore place any splinters of jailbroken apps (SBS/SSH) etc back onto my phone? (like the iNES and ROMs files i found after deleting nes4iphone)
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Say I

    Restore to 4.1
    Erase all settings on phone settings
    Sync and backup from backup made during jailbroken

    Is it clean?
  4. Just_For_Now

    Just_For_Now Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Oh no, when you restore don't restore from backup.
  5. AudioJihad

    AudioJihad New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Then how would I get all my messages and contacts back?

    I've done the procedure now.
    What I did was

    Restore and update.
    Once that was all done it asked new iphone or restore backup.
    I wanted to keep my contacts and sms so I restored.

    All my apps and media are gone but my sms and contacts are still a fresh, does this mean im squeeky clean of jailbreak?
  6. Just_For_Now

    Just_For_Now Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    ugh I don't know if you want then yes restore from back up but there could be a chance that some jb stuff will be on ur new update
  7. exit1010

    exit1010 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4,812
    Likes Received:
    48
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Thats the thing with jailbreaking to begin with. It changes the system files that iTune rejects. Start from fresh or try restoring from backup. You won't like what you see.
  8. AudioJihad

    AudioJihad New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    What do you mean by this?


    I have restored using the method first explained to me "restore to 4.1"

    When it was restored to factory, I restored the backup in itunes (when promted with restore backup or start as new phone).

    Upon start up it asked me to input a passcode (the unlock one) and i was presented with a clean iphone with no apps/media.

    altho the web bookmarks and main iphone icons i had foldered where as i left them.


    Are any jailbreak files still left in the systemfile?
  9. FaL LeGeNd

    FaL LeGeNd Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    most likely not, because iTunes only backs up approved files (I think) in the back ups so.....I've restored like that many times while jailbroken and had all of my legit info (Contacts, SMS, Web History, etc.). You should be fine.
  10. magic8ball88

    magic8ball88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    As far as I know, just clicking the "Update" button is just fine. Just remove as much of the jailbroken stuff as you can. The "update" method doesn't erase anything, but you won't be jailbroken and you aren't able to view things you acquired from the jailbreak.

    Restoring from backup isn't bad either, but there are a few things that will show up like custom carrier names. As long as you erase all the things you got from the jailbreak either method is fine, but I would wait for someone to confirm first.

    I will be doing the second method in a few minutes.

Share This Page