Ultrasnow? redsnow

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by wasteland66, Jun 20, 2009.

  1. wasteland66

    wasteland66 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    i know im going to get responses like "God is it too hard to search" thats cool but im just confused what is the difference between ultrasnow and redsnow i am running off of yellowsnow and have it unlocked to tmobile can i go ahead and update to 3.0 and do an unlock now thank you for your help...
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    also do you haft to pay for the iphone 3.0 update?
  2. germ

    germ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    no, you cant update to 3.0 and unlock (you have a 3g)

    redsnow = jailbreak for ipod touch and iphone (2g and 3g only)
    ultrasnow = sim unlock for iphone 2g and 3g with 3.0 firmware


    ultrasnow has not be "released" to the masses yet (that i know of).



    currently i am on tmobile as well with a 3g iphone w/ 3.0 that has been jailbroken. currently it can be used as an "ipod" and everything else, but no phone service since ultrasnow has not be released.
  3. wasteland66

    wasteland66 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    thanks man but what your saying is when ultrasnow is released you can unlock it for tmobile thanks again
  4. orkodan

    orkodan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup, once Ultrasn0w's released you'll be able to unlock your 3.0 phone
  5. schoei1

    schoei1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Ultrasn0w is not working or sim card?

    I bought a used Iphone 3G w/ 3.0 firmware and swapped my sim card. I Was able to jailbrake it, install Ultrasn0w and I disabled the 3G network & wifi. At the top left it says T-Mobile E (from my sim) and 3 bars active. But, when I try to go on line, it says "Could not activate cellular data network: You are not subscribed to a cellular data service

    I have done the jailbreaking and unlocking a few times and still get the same message. Any suggestions?

    Thanks
  6. ZunePod

    ZunePod Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    It's different now.

    UltraSn0w = Software Unlock for iPhone 3G and 3GS
    RedSn0w = Fast Jailbreak for iPod 1G, 2G, iPhone 2G and 3G.
    PurpleRa1n = One-click Jailbreak for iPhone 3GS.

    The guy can Unlock to a T-Mobile SIM. But make sure you turn off 3G, or else hell breaks loose.
  7. coop777

    coop777 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    schoei1 - do you have a data plan with tmobile?
  8. schoei1

    schoei1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Yes I do have a data plan with T-Mobile and I put my sim card back into my G1 phone, to make sure that I didn't mess-up the sim card. Everything still works fine w/ the sim card in the G1.

    I thought that the one thing I may have done incorrectly, was not clicking hacker when opening Cydia the first time, so I went through the process again. But, still no luck and the same message appeared.


    Thanks
  9. coop777

    coop777 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    You will need to enter in the APN for Edge connectivity. Navigate the following menus:
    Settings, General, Network, Cellular Data Network.

    In the APN field, type in the APN. If you are in the US it is: internet2.voicestream.com

    If you are in another country tmobile can provide it to you.

Share This Page