Ubuntu Slows down

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Tariomaster, Dec 29, 2008.

  1. Tariomaster

    Tariomaster Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPod touch
    So I installed Ubuntu on a 10GB partition on my Mac Pro and thought it would be EXTREMELY fast because on my Mac Pro I can run alot of things before it's even half of the memory is used.

    The problem is that Ubuntu is EXTREMELY SLOW. I tried running a game, and it's very slow. Everything's alot slower than on a mac.

    My Specs:

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Attached Files:

  2. ivanlul

    ivanlul New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Maybe it's because the hardware isn't updated in the partition?
  3. Tariomaster

    Tariomaster Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Ok I figured it out. But when I tried to boot into Linux, I couldn't. It doesn't even show up in Startup Disk
  4. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    You need something called rEFIt. That thing will let you boot into Linux.
  5. Tariomaster

    Tariomaster Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPod touch
    K downloading it. So it's an app. right?
  6. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Its an installer. You kind of boot into that, it starts up automatically when you turn on your computer, instead of having to hold the Alt/Option button. From there, you choose what to boot into. You can even change the icons if you like.
  7. Tariomaster

    Tariomaster Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPod touch
    So I read some of the documentation. If I have this all right, all I have to do is reboot my mac and I'll get the menu to choose where to boot from, correct?
  8. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Exactly. I used to do this also, but found that I didn't really need Linux. Another way to boot into Linux is to install Windows and Wubi that.
  9. Tariomaster

    Tariomaster Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Ok, testing rEFIt now. I'll post from Linux if it works
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Thank you so much Tes! This forum needs more people like you. So if you can, can you help me speed it up, because in Leopard, everything runs really fast (just look at my specs)

    but in linux everything is slower

Share This Page