ubuntu 10.04 and Gforce fx5200

Discussion in 'Computing, Science, and Technology' started by ish1tsn0w, May 15, 2010.

  1. ish1tsn0w

    ish1tsn0w Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    ubuntu will not let me use my gforce fx5200 video card to enable compiz and all the help fourms say to run ./compiz-check and i have but this is all i get:./compiz-check

    More than one graphics chip detected -- sorry, the script can not handle that.
    Aborting.


    but i don't have more than one graphics card?!?!?!
  2. iPwn

    iPwn Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,336
    Likes Received:
    525
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    yeah you probably do. Your motherboard probably has an onboard integrated graphics chip, and you have your external FX5200.
  3. dunuck

    dunuck Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Wow!
    Yo really need to change your gpu, and judging by the gpu you have (AGP right?) i am guessing you have a very old computer/motherboard
  4. iPwn

    iPwn Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,336
    Likes Received:
    525
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    Well if all he's doing is browsing the web and using Aero effects, all he really needs is an integrated chipset.
  5. NayLoMo6C

    NayLoMo6C New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Dang... i remember the FX 5200 was the first graphics card I have ever bought for my PC, and that was like 8 years ago...

    P.S. I bought it at Wal-Mart too for $99 LOL
  6. ish1tsn0w

    ish1tsn0w Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    yea old but it's all i have,so how do i tell if i have integrated graphics?
  7. ish1tsn0w

    ish1tsn0w Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    what so nobody will help me? i really like gnome and kubuntu is too slow
  8. iPwn

    iPwn Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,336
    Likes Received:
    525
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    Check the back of your computer. How many VGA connectors do you see? If there are 2, that means you have 2 graphics processors. If only 1, thats a strange glitch.
  9. ish1tsn0w

    ish1tsn0w Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    VGA do you mean um... moniter plugins?
    then yes i do,theirs on on the video card an another about 1/2 a foot abouv it
  10. iPwn

    iPwn Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    7,336
    Likes Received:
    525
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    yeah, that means that you have 2 video cards. (well the integrated isn't really a card, but still)

    Go into your BIOS and try to set the primary video adapter to PCI/PCI-E/AGP (or whatever you use), and see if there is an option to disable the onboard/integrated card.

Share This Page