TV-out with firmware 2.0 iPod touch

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X' started by nass0131, Jul 29, 2008.

  1. nass0131

    nass0131 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there~

    I bought non-Apple AV composite cable with USB.

    After I updated my ipod touch as 2.0, TV-out did not work correctly.
    Of course, it displayed well AT FIRST!
    But after couple of seconds, video playing stopped.
    And it went back to the video list screen.

    Now I down-graded my ipod as 1.1.4.
    Surprisingly, it worked!

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Is there anyone who have the same situation?

    What's the problem, cable or firmware???
  2. ricardofelix95

    ricardofelix95 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    4
    That happened to me. I just went to apple againg and gave a workning cable

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. jordskee

    jordskee Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    what!?!? I bought a non apple av cable and it didn't work on 1.1.4
    How did u get it to work?
  4. jpat53

    jpat53 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Usually they have to be labeled iPhone/iPod Touch compatible, because there is no "on" or "off" button for TV out on those.
  5. nass0131

    nass0131 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I figured it out after googling.

    The apple cable has an authentication chip.

    (I don't know the reason why they start to check the chip from 2.0)
    Whatever~

    So it happened, in my opinion~

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  6. kototoz

    kototoz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Greetings from Spain!

    I miss exactly the same!!! with the firmware 1.1.4 could use my cable to see the pictures in the television without problems (incidentally the cable is not official is bought from ebay to another manufacturer and cheaper)

    After updating to firmware 2,0 I can see the photos 5 seconds and soon the vision is lost, I believe that there are including in his update a restriction so that we buy original cables of Apple with an integrated chip that detected ipod and that activate the television signal (I have read in some forums)

    I believe that I am going to return to version 1.1.4 since the 2,0 at the moment I do not see it so useful, I have downloaded 15 applications free or more and I do not use any! it has cheered to find somebody more to me than it happens the same, sorry for my terrible English, am helping myself with Babylon,

    A greeting to all!
  7. shortperson1026

    shortperson1026 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,455
    Likes Received:
    21
    Welcome to Ipod Touch Fans!

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. thechungster

    thechungster Super Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,886
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    seriously?! wow,i cant believe 2.0 isnt compatible with the tv out cable
  9. kototoz

    kototoz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the welcome: D

    it seems incredible to me that we must pay more money by an original cable to be able to connect ours ipod to the television ..... when there are cheap connectors but and that make the same function by less money...
  10. darc10222

    darc10222 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you read?
    It's only 3rd-party cables.

Share This Page