[Tutorial] How to view iPod CPU Usage in real-time

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by simonrichards150, Jan 13, 2008.

  1. simonrichards150

    simonrichards150 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    94
    Device:
    iPod touch
    People who know UNIX don't really need to read this.

    Ok the reason I am writing this is because I just figured out why my ipod was being so sluggish and its because i has gpsphone running and I didnt know!

    So, to see your ipods running processes, along with their load on the iPod's CPU just to go Term-vt100 and type

    top

    then press enter.

    A list of your processes will appear along with thier memory usage and cpu load.

    If theres a processor hog you will be able to see it.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Ill post a video if requested.
  2. antihaxer

    antihaxer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or use sysinfo... lmfao.
  3. simonrichards150

    simonrichards150 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    94
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Ive been waiting for a noob response like this.

    Sysinfo does not display a list of running process that updates in real-time!

    LMFAO@YOU!
  4. Acerei

    Acerei New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    are you able to shut down the source straight from there?
    or do you have to shut down the process another way?
  5. l33_brandon@hotmail.com

    l33_brandon@hotmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do u scroll down from the program after #top ?
  6. Acerei

    Acerei New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    got it...
    the kill command?
    kill name/number?
  7. simonrichards150

    simonrichards150 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    94
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Theres probably a way to end the process from there but I am not sure of the exact command.

    EDIT: Yes, it is the kill command, but the syntax eludes me...

    I don't think you can. Term-vt100 has limited controls and screen real-estate. The most CPU heavy processes come to the top I think. If you want to end the top command then hold your finger on the screen until the circle appears then slide your finger over the part that says '^C'.
  8. bucks1605

    bucks1605 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is Term-vt100? How do I go to it?
  9. Acerei

    Acerei New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its an application
    I believe you can find it in Installer
    correct me if im wrong
  10. l33_brandon@hotmail.com

    l33_brandon@hotmail.com New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried the kill command, and put in the processID e.g >kill 133

Share This Page