[Tutorial] How to Successfully Jailbreak iPod touch 3G 8GB

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Sketchy, Oct 25, 2009.

  1. Sketchy

    Sketchy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    This is a tutorial on how to successfully JB your iPod touch 3g 8GB MC Model.

    Ok so lets start..

    First make sure your on 3.1.2 Firmware(You can check it in the Summary Tab in iTunes)

    Next check that you have a MC iPod touch Model(You can do this by going into Settings>General>About>Model it should start with the MC)

    Now download blackra1n from http://blackra1n.com

    Once downloaded open it and "make it ra1n" (It doesn't matter if iTunes is open or not.)

    Your iPod should go into recovery.( Have A iPod USB Cable and the iTunes logo)

    Now GeoHot's Face should appear on your device.

    Once done blackra1n will tell you that your Ipod is Jail broken.

    Now it will some thing like "Wait for reboot" This will reboot your iPod.

    Now you should hopefully see an Apple Logo on your ipod Touch, Let it boot up.

    Now you should see a blackra1n icon in your SpringBoard Open it and Install Cydia,Icy, and Rock.

    CONGRATULATIONS Your have Successfully JB Your ipod Touch 3G 8GB!
    Mike Slager likes this.
  2. ipodnanoinian

    ipodnanoinian Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    yerp this was very easy i jailbroke about an hour ago. like took half a minute. i only rebooted oce to install winterboard
  3. owii123

    owii123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    thx for the tutorial.

    But i just try and it was not working

    > Download newest Blakrai!n
    > Start Blackra!n.exe "Make it Ra!n"
    > Ipod Touch shows the Logo (Rain, 3 Ipods, and a face)
    > Ipod Touch restarts
    > BLACKSCREEN > Nothing > I need to repair iPod @ Itunes

    i have a 8GB MC Model and the newest Firmware (3.1.2), updatet from Itunes

    i have Windows XP on my PC

    itunes just say "Ipod in safemode(?) detected" i have a german ipod so maybe safemode is the wrong wird
  4. _JKK_

    _JKK_ Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    Sketchy... your pretty excited with this jailbreak release huh?
    Just saying, cause of all the posts you've done on it.
  5. Plastic777

    Plastic777 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Thanks for creating this awesome jailbreaking program Geohot. And thanks Sketchy for creating this awesome tutorial.
  6. LssThanThree

    LssThanThree Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Lol at the ! instead of 1
  7. Coolced

    Coolced New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Thanks for the tut. But I got a problem..

    I was able to jailbreak the ipod touch but after I installed Winterboard and rebooted it showed the iTunes - USB picture.

    Then I had to restore my ipod agian.

    Can anyone help me?
  8. _JKK_

    _JKK_ Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    Hey, that has happened to me before as well. I think not re-loading everything on Cydia fixed it...
  9. Coolced

    Coolced New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Thanks for the reply, but what do you mean by not re-loading?
  10. owii123

    owii123 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    mh... if i start the Blackra!n.exe in the Top is the Name "Blackra1n jailbreak by geohot RC1"

    RC1 !? have i the wrong version? where i get RC2?

Share This Page