[Tutorial] How to make a custom firmware version

Discussion in 'iOS Themes and Customization' started by alexander7161, May 10, 2010.

  1. alexander7161

    alexander7161 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    photo.jpg

    I found this out myself and would not like people to copy this without giving credit/giving a link to this post. i scrolled up so you cant see my serial

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    photo 2.jpg

    first go on ifile then go to directory /System/Libary/CoreServices then open: SystemVersion.plist

    photo 3.jpg

    click edit and then edit in appropriate changes next tap save now go back to the springboard(i didn't have to respring but you may) go to settings.app then general about and then your custom firmware will be there
  2. NiKox187x

    NiKox187x New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Hahahaha I f***ed mine up lol. "Firmware Version: OS N.I.K.O.(PWNED)
  3. narwal13

    narwal13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    Uh...you didn't really figure this out. It's pretty old.
  4. maxxdout

    maxxdout Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    11
    I changed mine and it didn't work.

    It also made Categories and MIM crash like hell...
  5. XxRedRumxX

    XxRedRumxX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,666
    Likes Received:
    1,079
    Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Alot of people posted about this already...it doesnt do anything but tell settings and cydia ur on some other firmware
  6. victop

    victop Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    This is very old. But peeps, watch out. I tried it before and it really slowed down my ipod touch. dont know why.. but when it change it back, my ipod was much faster.. anyone had this too?
  7. peebrian202869

    peebrian202869 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    the only way this was ever useful is if you were on 3.1.2 and itunes was bugging you with the upgrading questions... =/
  8. Appman

    Appman Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,034
    Likes Received:
    56
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Watch out though, in rare circumstances this will make Cydia not install packages and have some apps crash, as that's what happened to me and I had to restore.

Share This Page