[TUTORIAL] How to change WiFi Bars to look like Signal Bars!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by SwiftSkii, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. SwiftSkii

    SwiftSkii Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    How to change your WiFi Bars To Signal Bars​


    HORRAY! 1000 Veiws!!!!
    Hey guys, this is my first tutorial.
    So here we go. You will need:

    •A Jailbroken iPod touch (I am using a 2g 8gb running 4.0 for this)
    •SSH Client
    •Winterboard
    •Make it Mine from Cydia (Optional, only if you want it to say a carrier name)
    This File

    Okay, so you got those files. They are in a Zip, so unzip them.

    Inspect the files, and make sure NONE OF THEM have [1] at the end. This is a main cause of FAILIURE.
    Make sure you have these files:

    •Black_0_Wifibars
    •Black_1_Wifibars
    •Black_2_Wifibars
    •Black_3_Wifibars
    •Silver_0_Wifibars
    •Silver_1_Wifibars
    •Silver_2_Wifibars
    •Silver_3_Wifibars

    Start SSHing into your iDevice,

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    and go to root directory (\). Find your Winterboard themes folder (it is at \Library\themes)

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    and put the WiFiBars2SignalBars.theme into that folder.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Get your iDevice and Activate the theme and respring!

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    The part were Make it Mine comes in: Just simply put in AT&T in the box and hit carrier. Done! Your iPod touch now (kinda) resembles an iPhone.

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    Note: If you dont have wifi, the bars wont show up
    Note2: The bars aculy show the strengh of the iPod's WiFi signal. Cool, Huh?

    If it does not work, tell me and post some screenies of your iPod and SSH client in various places.

    My Finished Homescreen, Look at the Upper left corner!
    Almost Dead Signal:

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    Medum Signal:

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    Maximum Signal:

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Do you like the banana? =D

    BIG NOTE! Recently discovered, for some reason, the signal bars DO NOT work in the following apps:
    Youtube
    Rock
    Cydia
    Icy
    Rock, Cydia and Icy's apps (only does not work SOMETIMES. Most of the time the bars appear...)

    In those apps, the service bars DO NOT show, but instead show the regular boring Wifi bars. I am not sure why this happens.
    If anyone has more apps that this does not work with, PLEASE tell me, so that i can add it to that list.

    For those of you who dont know, here is how to SSH:

    Get WinSCP and run it. Make sure your iPod is ON AND ON THE HOME SCREEN (NOT IN SLEEP MODE!!)

    The normal password is "alpine", and you need to use "root" as the username

    The left side of the SSH screen Represents your computer, and the right is the iDevice. You just simply click and drag items over.

    I give thanks to user Numbah81, who gave me the pictures nessicary for this. Thanx dude!
    I hope you enjoyed this tutorial!
    Signing off, Swiftskii

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    Edit August 9, 2010, mixed up right from left. Doh!
    Edit 2 August 9,2010, Added the apps that the Service bars do not work in.
    Edit 3 August 9,2010, Edited the apps that the Service bars do not work in.
  2. Lux2GS

    Lux2GS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,678
    Likes Received:
    138
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Really nice Tut mate. Could you re-upp the Zip somewhere else? [PIRACY.mf] doesn't let me download

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. Numbah81

    Numbah81 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    No problom
  4. SwiftSkii

    SwiftSkii Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    Attached to this message, Lux
    Thx, btw.

    Attached Files:

  5. SwiftSkii

    SwiftSkii Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    Lol, this took me an hour to do. I just noticed that!
  6. Numbah81

    Numbah81 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    Wow thats a while! I just got back from my grandparents.
  7. Lux2GS

    Lux2GS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,678
    Likes Received:
    138
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Thank you

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    But Why do you have the WiFi bars in the MakeItMine app?
  8. Numbah81

    Numbah81 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    Yeah i was wondering that to
  9. whymangotango

    whymangotango Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    pretty cool, but what's the point of pretending to have an iPhone when you have an iPod?
  10. SwiftSkii

    SwiftSkii Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    Oh, it does that on apps from cydia and cydia itself, all other apps it does good on.

    I cant remember if its that or i just didnt activate it yet
    And mango, I wanted an iPhone, but didnt have the money, and i already have a cell phone
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Oh yeah i didnt activate the bars yet. The MiM pic was the first one i took.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Thanx guys sooo much for the support, and i made this becuase everyone wanted to know.

    This fourm has given me so much support and helped me with my itouch. Thanx to everyone here!!

Share This Page