[TUTORIAL] How to boot into 64bit mode!

Discussion in 'Mac & OS X' started by ChronicFunk, Jan 23, 2010.

  1. ChronicFunk

    ChronicFunk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    For those of you with a Mac Pro, Mac Book Pro, or iMac, your Mac supports 64bit mode. Well, that's if your Mac is no more than 2 years old(i think).

    64bit will make your Mac significantly faster, but it will use more power, so let that be known.

    Anyway, here's how you do it!
    1. If your Mac is on, reboot it
    2. Just before the Apple pops up, hold down '6' and '4'
    3. Hold the keys till the login screen or desktop
    4. You are now in 64bit mode!

    To make sure you were successful, click the  at the top left of the screen, click 'About this Mac', then click 'More Info'. This will open System Profiler. Now, in the left column, click the 'Software' heading. Look for '64-bit Kernel and Extensions', if it says 'Yes', your in 64bit mode! If no, then no.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Good luck and enjoy!
  2. atomicmufin

    atomicmufin Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,549
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    whats good about 64 bit?
  3. Awesome

    Awesome Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Yeah whats so good about it?
  4. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
  5. Awesome

    Awesome Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    So overall this will make my mac faster?
  6. bryster126

    bryster126 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Likes Received:
    54
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    WARNING: some of the apps you installed on your mac won't work in 64 bit mode, you'll have to reinstall them in 64 bit to get them to work.
  7. Awesome

    Awesome Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)

    Then it isn't worth it.
  8. Radish

    Radish Banned

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I thought Mac OS booted into 64-bit by default. O_O
  9. bryster126

    bryster126 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,707
    Likes Received:
    54
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    it might be. i think if you reboot into 32 bit mode they'll work fine. but frankly i don't know
  10. ChronicFunk

    ChronicFunk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Oh, it's worth it! I saw a significant boost in speed!

    Also, all Macs boot into 32bit by default.

Share This Page