[TUTORIAL] (1G Only!) 3.0b3 jailbreak w/ unofficial_QuickPWN

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 3.0 Jailbreak' started by jfb392, Apr 14, 2009.

1. jfb392

jfb392 New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    This guide assumes you aren't a total newbie to jailbreaking your iPod.
    It also assumes you have a copy of the iPod1,1 3.0 beta 3 firmware, a copy of the unofficial QuickPwn for beta 2, and WinRAR.

Anything that hasn't been linked I will not be providing because of their legality.
    I am only using the unofficial QuickPwn to make things easier on myself (I haven't tested older ones, nor do I want to this late at night).

Also, no support is provided, so use at your own risk!

And finally, quickpwn.com and any other losers, you are not allowed to credit me if you steal this. I don't want my name affiliated with your site. It sucks. Thanks.

Of course, this wouldn't be possible without the work of the Dev Team.
    If you guys read this, sorry I'm recommending that people use an unofficial copy of your software.
    If I go back and test an older copy, I'll probably take that requirement out.

1.) Right click your unofficial QuickPwn and choose "Extract to QuickPwn/".
    I recommend moving this folder to the Desktop.

2.) Download this bundle and extract it to "QuickPwn\Data\PwnmetheusBundles\".

3.) If you aren't already on 3.0b3, restore to it in iTunes.

4.) After the restore is complete, open up QuickPwn.exe in the QuickPwn folder you extracted, not the original executable.

5.) Go through the steps as usual, I recommend not checking activation (it will replace your lockdownd binary with one that expires soon) and don't check custom logos (they use dumb ones, feel free to throw your own in).

6.) When you reach the DFU helper section of QuickPwn, follow it. When your device's screen turns purple, unplug your device quickly.
    Do not close QuickPwn!

7.) Open up a Windows Explorer window.
    Type %TEMP% in the address bar and hit enter.