Truly Corrupted iPod Touch? Restore Errors, Any Programs To Completely Wipe It?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by arh2o, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. arh2o

    arh2o New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks in advance fellas, this one is quite tricky. 1st Generation iPod Touch seems to be truly corrupted. I can get into restore mode no problem. iTunes detects it as needing to be restored however it will not restore no matter what i do.

    I tried restoring on an Macbook, a PC, a new account on PC, new USB cord, different USB plugs.. all no go. Keep getting the dreaded 1603 error. Tried iReb but this won't even work either.

    Are there ANY programs out there to wipe my ipod touch completely and then try to do a restore on iTunes? When iTunes detects that i need to restore my model, firmware, etc are all N/A. I've pretty much tried everything out there to get rid of the 1603 error during restore but nothing works so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
  2. mikeac

    mikeac Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Get into DFU Mode and restore to the latest firmware (3.1.3 or 4.0).
  3. arh2o

    arh2o New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    DFU mode is a no go either.. getting this error message

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Any ideas what to do from here?
  4. narwal13

    narwal13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    @mikeac, iPod 1G isn't supported for 4.0

    Try uninstalling iTunes and reinstalling, what version is it?
  5. arh2o

    arh2o New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Blahh just tried it on a Macbook pro with a fresh install of itunes and same error message but this time without the "not enough memory available" part.

Share This Page