Trouble with SSH and passwords

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by mcRZA, Jan 1, 2010.

  1. mcRZA

    mcRZA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Recently I have been trying to SSH into my 3.1.2 3rd generation iPod Touch with WinSCP, but the password 'alpine' will not work with 'root'. I tried to change the password in Terminal from Cydia but when typing in 'passwd' then return, 'Old Password:' appears and it will not allow me to type in any characters. Help would be greatly appreciated.
  2. jmwerkus

    jmwerkus Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    It's letting u type in new characters... It's not supposed to show it's acknoledging you
  3. mcRZA

    mcRZA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    well, when I type in 'alpine' as old password it returns 'sorry', so it still doesn't work.
  4. Plasmah

    Plasmah New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    mcRZA

    Have you tried a program called ifunbox?
    I use that to get into my Ipod Touch.
  5. mcRZA

    mcRZA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I tried iFunBox after viewing some tutorials, but when I opened my iPod with it, I realized that I was lacking the 'wallpapers' folder and 'ringtones' folder. Also, when I opened the 'Raw File System' folder, my folders are different and there are fewer of them than I have seen in the tutorials. Does anyone know what might be wrong? The program recognizes my iPod as being jailbroken, but as only having firmware '3.1' when I currently have 3.1.2.
  6. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    DiskAid?
  7. mcRZA

    mcRZA New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    DiskAid wont let me view the root folder and it says 'Sorry, you need to have a jailbroken device to view the root partition.' even though my iPod Touch is clearly jailbroken.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    All problems solved. I needed to install afc2add from Cydia.
  8. Cisafl

    Cisafl New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Through MobileTerminal...?

Share This Page