Trouble connecting to Wireless N network?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by adgjqetuo, Oct 24, 2009.

1. adgjqetuo

adgjqetuo New Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Hi Guys - newbie here - I just recently upgraded from an ipod classic to a 64gb touch this past thursday. So far I love it, however I'm having trouble connecting to wireless N networks.

When I switch my Apple Airport Extreme to "802.11n (802.11b/g compatiable)" I can see the netowk in my iTouch and successfully connect to it. HOWEVER when I switch the airport to "802.11n only (2.4GHz)" the iTouch still SEES the network, but when I try connecting to it I get the error message "Unable to join the network "M_Wireless_Airport"

I took it back to Best Buy and they said it sounds like a defect and that ALL iPod touch's should connect to wireless N no problem. They suggested restoring the iPod (which I think it weird seeing as it's only 3 days old) - but when I tried that it still gave me the error.

Is this true that it could be defective? Should I trade it in for a new one?

Thanks for all your help with this...

BTW - I'm running 3.1.2 firmware with the 3G iTouch
  2. xinzhitan14

xinzhitan14 New Member

Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    the chipset in the ipod touch does support 802.11n, however, apple have locked it down to only work with b/g modes.
    the guy at best buy has no idea about the ipod touch, one word of advice, NEVER listen to sales people, they will say what they can to make a sale. Do the research yourself before buying and you can never go wrong.
  3. Teslanaut

Teslanaut Well-Known Member

Device:
    4G iPod touch
    iPod touches and iPhones cannot connect to N networks. Even though there is N on the 3rd generation, it hasn't been activated to do so.
  4. adgjqetuo

adgjqetuo New Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    That stinks - I hate how apple always puts in hardware that can physically do things, but then they keep away the software that allows it to work.