Tricky Tricky!!!!!!

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X' started by zr-, Jan 21, 2009.

  1. zr-

    zr- Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Ok, so lets say you have 2.1 firmware.
    You can't install apps that require 2.2 firmware! (sad Face)
    BUT!
    If you go to cydia, lookup an app called "FWChanger"...it just makes the iPod say it has whatever firmware. (Note: It doesn't actually give you the firmware)

    So download and open FWChanger. Then under the field "Firmware" put "2.2", and under the field "Build" put "5G77" (That's the iPod 2.2 firmware build).

    Then completely close out iTunes. (use ctrl+alt+delete and close out iTunes helper also). Then reboot the iPod.

    Once booted run iTunes and should recognize your iPod as 2.2 firmware. You can now install and run 2.2 apps normally!

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    I did this because I didn't want to completely wipe out my jailbroken apps and have to restart for an update.


    Let me know if this works out for you.


    If you want to go back to your 2.1 firmware on the iPod Touch, go back to FWChanger, Firmware will be "2.1" and build "5F137"
    Note: This will not mess up your iPod in any way
  2. Meikura

    Meikura Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,081
    Likes Received:
    431
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Firmware 2.2 is better.
  3. zr-

    zr- Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Isn't it the same thing really?
  4. kevin1st

    kevin1st Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,018
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    ya what he ^^^ said ( i meant miekura but just had to butt in.)

    i keep on hitting ctrl+alt+del but its doing nothing, halp?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. Bubalooshi

    Bubalooshi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    No.
    Street View.
    Faster / Stable(r) Safari.
    Google Search Bar added next to Address Bar.
    Battery Improvements.
    Wi-Fi Fixes (For iPod Touch 2G owners).

    EDIT: kevin1st: Type taskmgr.exe in Run. Or Command Prompt. Same thing.
  6. zr-

    zr- Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    The Google Search is in 2.1 also.
    I guess if Safari acts up for you get it though, mine works fine

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    And I guess if you needed street views that'd be oK also haha
  7. kevin1st

    kevin1st Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,018
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)

    where can i locate this 'run' u speak of.

    oh well b4 this get 2 far i will end it. i have a mac so ctrl+alt+del does nothing hence why i but '

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    ' that dude to show i was joking
  8. zr-

    zr- Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Lol I'm not sure for a Mac though. Whatever lets you close out of running processes. I'm not sure if you have to though, I just closed it out to make sure it worked.
    Worst case scenario: you'll have to restart your computer instead of closing stuff out. So it's no big deal

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  9. Bubalooshi

    Bubalooshi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Oh, I thought you meant on Windows since he gave a tutorial for Windows.

    On a Mac, just quit the application.
    Then, open Activity monitor in Utilities.
    Force quit iTunes Helper.

    I don't know if this is even necessary on a Mac, for this to work all you might have to do is simply quit the application. Try, and see what happens.
  10. zr-

    zr- Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Yeah, the only reason you have to exit it out and restart your iPod is because iTunes will continue to recognize your old firmware until you do.

Share This Page