[toolchain-2.0] mouse events in UITextView

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by gomegom, Aug 25, 2008.

1. gomegom

gomegom New Member

Hi,

how could we handle events like mouseDown, mouseDragged and mouseUp events for an editable UITextView object when developping an application for 2.0 framework?

As these operations change the cursor position (at least mouseDragged and mouseDown do), I tried to implement textViewDidChangeSelection, thinking they might be the same thing. Unfortunately, it did not help much as -ironically- it seems like it is only fired after a mouseUp event, not at all cursor position changes.

It seems like a very task but I couldn't find a way around. No need to confess I am new to obj-C

Please Register or Log in to view images

Sorry for being an asker at first post, I hope someone can help me about this problem.

Thanks all in advance
  2. ipodtouchmaster05

ipodtouchmaster05 Well-Known Member

Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    It changed to touches now, like touchesDown touchesEnded touchesMoved etc..
  3. SkylarEC

SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

ipodtouchmaster05, Please remove the SDK method names from your post. They are still protected under NDA.
  4. Steaps

Steaps New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    Woah, even the names are under Apple's NDA? I knew it was strict but no that strict.
  5. gomegom

gomegom New Member

I did not know you couldn't even post the function names

Anyway, thanks for the reply, it was much more faster then I expected.
    Unfortunately I had not been succesful about using the touches* operations too.

Actually, I tried them before but after many unsuccesful attempts I gave up. After seeing your reply, I decided to create a basic example with just a textView.