TIFF fix with installer.app have problem installation/uninstallation

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by ipoddy, Oct 29, 2007.

  1. ipoddy

    ipoddy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    I installed TIFF fix from installer, and was not sure about what it's purpose. After installtion, it asked me to go to http://jailbreakme.com . I have jaibraked already using eralier method, that's why I've installer.app. So I decided to un-install the TIFF fix from installer. Now later when I tried to install it, it put the messeage that script couln't be run. Is it a bug? If so, it should be fixed. If not, it shouldn't be included in the uninstall section of the installer, because if it is in unstall section, then it means you can un-install it without any further problem.
  2. pattyadams

    pattyadams New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not a bug it's meant to close a loophole through which the ipod could be exploited. The reason it asks you to go to the jailbreak site is only to prove it's working.

    As for uninstall, I tried uninstalling it and it seemed to work ok but now when I re-install it I get the main script execution failed message.

    Anyone know why?
  3. happyman696

    happyman696 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not entirely sure. But i think it is a permant fix. Well unless you restore you ipod touch. So if you try to reinstall the app it fails beacuse it has already been patched. I might be wrong though.
  4. ipoddy

    ipoddy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    When you un-install it, what does it do then? That's a big question then. If un-installing means something then there must me a way to re-install it. Otherwise there shouldn't be any provision to un-install it.
  5. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    That's not quite true about the Uninstall. If something is installed through the Installer, then it is automatically added to the Uninstall list. From there, Installer would access a specific Uninstall Script for the specific app. In this case, since I'm pretty sure this is a permanent fix, I'd bet that there's no code in its Uninstall Script (of there is one at all).
  6. YOHAN

    YOHAN New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, please explain in 'dummy's' terms why everyone needs to install this TIFF exploit and what would happen if we don't?

    Thanks!

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    Dummy terms? Okay.

    The tiff exploit is the gaping hole in your iPod's security that allowed access into the iPod for the original iPod hackers. It is by utilizing this exploit that you were able to JailBreak your touch.

    Once you're Jailbroken though, you don't want that great big hole in your security through which malicious code could enter. Fixing the hole goes a great long way toward securing your iPod.
  8. ipoddy

    ipoddy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    So 'permanent fix' means that even if you uninstall it the TIFF hole has been fixed, and nothing to worry. That's what you're saying?
  9. oliath

    oliath New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah but surely you dont want to close access to yourself either?

    what if you muck up your ipod and have to restore and then need to jailbreak again? Will the tiff fix still be in place?
  10. midiman6

    midiman6 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would think not because you are restoring your ipod to it's original firmware, therefore completely resetting it to factory default. Unfortunately I don't know for sure because I never tested it myself.

Share This Page