This might be a stupid question

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by SkylarEC, Sep 22, 2007.

  1. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    I don't think it'll do anything, but there's this little thing nagging me on the back of my mind. Has anybody tried going through the code for an installer.app, ibrckr, or any of those and replacing all instances of "iphone" with "ipod?"
  2. LeaverX

    LeaverX New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem is we can't load anything onto the Ipod yet so theres no way to get the installer.app on the ipod
  3. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    No, that's not quite what I meant. I'm thinking about the program that installs that onto the phone. When you go through the installation, it hangs when it tries to restore the iPod. The thought in my mind is that might be caused by the fact that the program is looking for "iphone" when it should be looking for "ipod."


    Almost similar to the recent issue with iweathr. The site wouldn't recognise the ipod and kept kicking everybody out. That's because his site was looking for an iphone signature when it should been looking for iphone or ipod.

    Yes, I realise, that's a Safari issue, and most likely has nothing to do with anything. But I just wanted to put that out there because I'm sick of getting my iPod set up, then having to restore it when I think of something else I want to try thatdoesn't work (basically, I'm giving up).
  4. weirddemon

    weirddemon New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting theory. Something I did the other makes me wonder... though it's probably just the wrong name written into the code. When I tried to put my password into my iPode Touch, I messed up lke 5 times (bad memory) and then it said, "iPhone is disabled. Try again in 1 minute."

    So, it's probably nothing, but it's funny

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. AlliPodHax

    AlliPodHax New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    60
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    they just messed up the firmware, but on the new ones there shouldn't be this crap.

    Cheers,
    Ben.
  6. ITBRTI

    ITBRTI Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    15
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Somone should make a tool that opens up the iPoT and change all the "iPhones" to "Ipod Touch"
  7. ianoreo

    ianoreo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Good idea. But I don't think it would work. We should at least try though.
  8. nintendodude

    nintendodude New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    2
    please read my signature.
  9. ianoreo

    ianoreo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Good point haha
  10. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129

    Hahaha, that was in my mind the whole time as I thought this up.

Share This Page