[Think Tank] Enabling CPU Frequency Scaling.

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by jimbeam, Jun 25, 2010.

  1. jimbeam

    jimbeam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Lets get this out of the way first, I know the risks fully, battery life, hot phone, imploding phone, end of the world.... yadaa yadda.... I'm willing to take the risks so please don't post if all you want to do is tell me how much of a bad idea this is. We know changing the name of "PowerManagement.bundle" or deleting it doesn't do anything so please don't bring that up.

    We know apple uped the CPU frequency in 1.1.2 from 400MHz to 412MHz, so it's doable via software in the original iphone and ipod touch, lets figure out how they did it and how we can do it.

    The 1st gen ipod touch, iphone and iphone 3G CPU is capable in running at 677Mhz, I think 528Mhz would be safe and stable enough for daily use and not put to much of a strain on battery. I have my mytouch 3G set to 528mhz max and 245 mhz min and it runs fine with no real battery loss. MyTouch and original iphone/ipodtouch/3G share a similar CPU.

    So lets figure this out... finally. I'm a noob at this, but I have an iPhone 3G running 4.0 I'm willing to sacrifice, just point me in the direction.
  2. CocaCola

    CocaCola New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I'd yell at you, but you have 3,000 posts, so I'mma support you on this

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    This has been attempted, on a thread somewhere here. If someone finds it, we could save ourselves some research.

    EDIT:

    Good behold, it seems it was already done. I only read the first page. I gotta go. So yeah.

    hawtlink. Click me.
  3. ThatGEEKFreak

    ThatGEEKFreak Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPad 3
    Thread has nothing to do with overclocking (at least it doesn't really work is what I'm getting at)
  4. jimbeam

    jimbeam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    @cocacola, that doesn't work. CPU stays the same.
  5. Hackey_Sack

    Hackey_Sack New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I think he intended it as a jumping-off point. Sort of a, "Don't try this, it doesn't work, but we can build on it!"
  6. Gtamario

    Gtamario Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Why would you want to overclock it?
  7. jimbeam

    jimbeam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Okay. We know that file is just power managment. Tells the system what to do in different situations. Dim screen before sleep and so on.


     _Wake On Clamshell Open_Sleep On Power Button_Display Sleep Uses Dim_Mobile Motion Module_Reduce Processor SpeedYGPUSwitch^Hibernate File[Wake On LAN_Wake On Modem Ring_Disk Sleep Timer_System Sleep Timer^Hibernate Mode_Display Sleep Timer_Dynamic Power Step_TTYSPreventSleep_Wake On AC Change_ReduceBrightness_Automatic Restart On Power Loss
  8. R&S

    R&S Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
  9. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    Changing the clock speed on an iPod touch was accmomplished a long time ago. Maybe it was the iPhone; I can hardly remember the details now.

    Scroll about halfway down this page from the archives to see my post on the subject from July 2, 2009.
  10. Hexane

    Hexane New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Now.. Lay off it until Planet Being pulls it off (As he told me he was going to do via flashing a modded img3 of iboot like logome..)

Share This Page