There's gotta be something wrong with my battery

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Zune Killa, Aug 15, 2010.

1. Zune Killa

Zune Killa New Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I'm new to the iPod Touch so of course i'm all over it like white on rice, and since I JB it it seems i'm on it even more trying to find the next "can't live without" mod or app. That being said, my battery charge doesn't last very long when constantly emailing/twittering/searching/downloading/installing, etc. I pretty much chalked it up to my heavy use of it. But this afternoon I charged it up fully and before I shut it down I turned off wifi, turned on airplane mode, killed all processes and cleared the multitasking bar. This was around 4pm. I just turned it on now for the first time since and my battery is down to 95%

Please Register or Log in to view images

I also notice the battery capacity will fluctuate depending on what i'm doing. When just listening to music it stays constant. But I can get online and start multitasking and the juice will drop from 30% to 20% in a matter of minutes and then when I stop multitasking and just play music I can check back in 10min or so and it's back up to 30%+.

So I have a few questions:

1. I drive alot at work and of course use my iPod for my music...when I get some down time I'll find a wifi hotspot and get online which kills my battery pretty fast so I connect it to my car charger (cig lighter type w/usb port) made by iFrogz IIRC. I'll leave it plugged in so long as i'm online with it, is it bad to keep it charging even when it reaches full charge?

2. Is it possible to overcharge?

3. Is it a good idea to run the battery all the way down until the device shuts off?

4. Do these batteries form a memory?

5. How difficult is it to replace the battery on my own?