The White Screen.

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Sara_Elizabeth, Aug 8, 2009.

  1. Sara_Elizabeth

    Sara_Elizabeth New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    First post here.
    I have searched EVERYWHERE and nothing seems to help.
    Sorry if I posted in here wrong and what not.
    I just really need some help.
    I have an already Jailbroken Ipod Touch 2g.

    So the other night I was on the facebook app looking at pictures and my ipod froze.
    It's done it lots of times before and usually what I do is turn it off and just boot it up again with my computer.
    Well the thing is, I get it into DFU mode (The comp recognizes it and everything) but when I unplug and re-plug it back in, no white screen.
    I would restore it but I have contacts on there that I don't want to lose.
    Not to mention the vids as well.
    Is there any way I can recover those?
    I've tried to get iRecovery to open but it won't.
    Just a flash of the bios and that's it.

    I've tried countless of times trying to get the white screen.
    But no luck.
    I hope it's not broken or anything.
    When I forced it to shut off when it froze, I did see the white screen flash and I got worried.

    Hope you guys can help me out.
    You all know a lot more than I do.
  2. deepower

    deepower New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    first off, you can never but NEVER brick an iPod. and secondly, is your ipod tethered? what did you use for JB'ing?
  3. Sara_Elizabeth

    Sara_Elizabeth New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's untethered and I found it from TysiPhoneHelp.com.
    I JB'ed it awhile back.
  4. LssThanThree

    LssThanThree Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Install SSH
    to backup your contacts go to var/mobile/Library/Addressbook/
    backup the files in there.
    As for the videos. Idk.
  5. Sara_Elizabeth

    Sara_Elizabeth New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was thinking about doing that
    But it doesn't work.
    It just gives an error code that the connection times out.
  6. crimsondynamo329

    crimsondynamo329 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    For your first connection, you may have to change a timeout setting in your SSH client while OpenSSH does its thing
  7. Sara_Elizabeth

    Sara_Elizabeth New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    The one I tried to connect with was WinSCP not OpenSSH.
    But I installed OpenSSH and it's telling me to do all this stuff....

    I'd like to first see if my ipod will work again before I work on anything else....
  8. crimsondynamo329

    crimsondynamo329 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    No, OpenSSH is installed on the iPod side, not on your computer.
  9. Sara_Elizabeth

    Sara_Elizabeth New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh haha well I can't quite get into my ipod lol
    Hence this thread....
  10. crimsondynamo329

    crimsondynamo329 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    SSH will not work if OpenSSH is not installed on your iPod. I'm afraid I can't help beyond that. I would just restore

Share This Page