The Overclocking Thread

Discussion in 'Computing, Science, and Technology' started by rafarquhar, Sep 13, 2009.

  1. rafarquhar

    rafarquhar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anyone here overclocking on their PC?

    I currently have a Phenom II X4 945 pushed from 3.0 ghz to 3.5 ghz, cooled by a Zalman cooler my brother gave me. I haven't ran a stability test yet, but I have a feeling it will crash.

    I also have a Raedon HD 4890 overclocked to 1 gigahert.

    How are your overclocks coming along, iPTF?
  2. randomdude1234

    randomdude1234 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    2
    hm running a 3450HD and a Phenom 9550 x4...how i overclock those just a very little bit?
  3. MikeBoi

    MikeBoi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I'm over clocking my 2.0Ghz Proccesor to 5.2 Ghz.

    Nah, i don't know how to overclock, and don't really want to. But maybe you could make a tutoriel on how to over clock?
  4. Gamma

    Gamma Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,964
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I got a Core i7 920 up to 4 GHz with a Xigmatek Dark Knight cooler
  5. rafarquhar

    rafarquhar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's pretty processor specific.

    For example, if you own an AMD Black Edition processor, you simply bump up the processor speed multiplier to increase core speed. This is a really really rough summation, as you have to do more and more additional steps the further you want to overclock.

    The other method of overclocking (for Intel and non BE AMD processors) consists of increasing the Front Side Bus of the processor and adjusting other values accordingly.

    A simple way to see it (though very vague and not at all a guideline for overclocking)
    FSB x M = Core speed
    Some overclocks require you to change FSB, some require you to change the M. Increasing FSB increases the speed of other components also, which could lead to more stability issues.
  6. randomdude1234

    randomdude1234 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    2
    how you overclock? nah my BIOS probably grayed it out...is there any other way? a software overclocker that works with any motherboard?
  7. rafarquhar

    rafarquhar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    1
    Are you sure it's greyed out? I thought voltage adjustment on my BIOS was locked until I simply pressed the +/- keys to increase/decrease the voltage.
  8. randomdude1234

    randomdude1234 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    2
    now thats interesting....hehe ill test it out sometime.
  9. tgluak

    tgluak New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
  10. TheConqueror

    TheConqueror New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    3
    Currwntly im running a phenom II x3 @ 3.72GHz stable, with idle low to high 20's and max 4C load. I coh do 3.8 stable but i dont want to crank up my fan since its running at about 50% now

Share This Page