Textfree Unlimited Tones Mod

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by philip1192, Sep 17, 2009.

  1. philip1192

    philip1192 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    I want to add my own tones to textfree. I have successfully managed to add new alarms to my ipod, so I figured it'd be easy to add tones to textfree. That's not so, however. What do I need to change to make textfree recognize that I've added a new .caf file for it to use? I added a song of mine as a .caf file and put the name in the format required. But when I look for it in textfree, I don't see it. What do I have to do?
  2. Bubalooshi

    Bubalooshi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Just replace one of them and then listen to each tone.

    One of them will be the noise.

    I like having the original Tri-tone as TextFree's sound. Their 'Classic' tone doesn't sound like it.
    I'm going to jailbreak my 3GS after a new firmware update comes out on the 25th.
  3. philip1192

    philip1192 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    The thing is, I'd like to add to the list, not replace. I've figured out how to replace sounds, but I want to see more names of tones on the list as opposed to replacing current ones.
  4. Freerunnering

    Freerunnering Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    how have you added a new alarm as i've tried that unsuccessfully.
  5. iw0025

    iw0025 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I want to know how to do the same thing!!! Tell me when u find out!!
  6. philip1192

    philip1192 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    To add new alarms, go into Var\Stash\Ringtones.6MZzQC (or a ringtones folder. the name may vary for you) and add them there. They have to be .m4r files, so you'll need a converter. Just search for an iphone ringtone maker or converter.
  7. jmwerkus

    jmwerkus Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,030
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    or change the a in m4a to an r... it worked for me
  8. philip1192

    philip1192 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Awesome. I'll have to try that.

Share This Page