Test XCode apps on iPod touch without $99

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by csnplt, Apr 1, 2009.

  1. csnplt

    csnplt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I am learning to write iPhone apps but am not serious enough to pay for the $99 Apple Developer Connection Membership. How can I test my apps on my iPod touch (jailbroken 2.2.1) without paying this fee. I am unable to build my projects in device -2.2.1 release, because I get errors about not having some key in my keychain to access that functionality.

    So, is there a way I can get this to work. As far as I'm concerned, I should be able to do this, since this is my app, my iPod touch, and once I gain enough experience, I will buy the membership so I can sell my apps.

    Thanks for help in advance.
  2. 12padams

    12padams New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea i also want to do this but whenever i say somthing on this forum i don't get a reply or i get a hopeless reply so can someone answer this?

    Do i [removed]...
    Do i patch xcode...

    What do you do seriously i can't find this info anywhere on the internet.

    Can someone please reply to us.
  3. RainbowKT

    RainbowKT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    google it?
  4. mappy4ever

    mappy4ever Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I think u can do this not tested though...........!

    - Install [removed] via Cydia>>>>>
    - Then add ur application to itunes < should go in.
    - Sync it........... !
  5. Meikura

    Meikura Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,081
    Likes Received:
    431
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Stop mentioning [MI], it's against the rules.
  6. Tai Therin

    Tai Therin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    There is a certain file you can use, which I won't name. If you use that, you have to spoof a codesign on your app and it will run on your device. Google for instructions.
  7. Chicken

    Chicken Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    I don't think you can say that, since we know what you are referring to. It's better to just not mention this at all.....
  8. spoonforknife

    spoonforknife Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,896
    Likes Received:
    317
    You can do it another way without MI.

    Edit your project settings and add the following user defined settings:

    Make the value for both
    Check build for Device/Debug.
    Hit Cmd+B.

    You also need a codesigning certificate from Apple.
    Find out how to make one here.
    Make sure your certificate is named "iPhone Developer"

    Right click the product ("YourApp.app"), and then hit reveal in finder.
    Connect to your iPod via SFTP, and load it into Applications.
  9. Tai Therin

    Tai Therin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    I thought you needed that to do the provisioning profile.
  10. Steaps

    Steaps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,074
    Likes Received:
    41
    Device:
    iPod touch
    No sir.

Share This Page