terminal command

Discussion in 'iPod touch 1.1.4 Jailbreak' started by afarnesi, May 23, 2008.

  1. afarnesi

    afarnesi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPod touch
    for deleting remotepackages.plist from /var/mobile/Library/Installer

    So what might that be
  2. GrooveMachine

    GrooveMachine Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPod touch
    sudo rm /var/mobile/Library/Installer

    You'll have to enter your password ("alpine" by default). Enjoy

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. afarnesi

    afarnesi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPod touch
    my mobile terminal does not recognize the command "sudo"
  4. Mortel

    Mortel Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Get an older version of Terminal for future use. I find the newer ones much more annoying to use, because you are not root as default.

    Anyways, if you want to be able to use the sudo command, you can always install Cydia and install "sudo". I don't tihnk you want to go through all the trouble to do that though, just to use a command in Terminal.

    I'm not really farmillar with the newer versions of Terminal, since I use an older version, due to the hassle of new ones. I do know you have to log in as root, but I don't know how. Sorry.
  5. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    I will get the source for you to be able to log in as root. Be right back

    iphone.lenlolabs.com

    There is some BSD thing in their to allow root access. Install it, open terminal, type su and then alpine
  6. afarnesi

    afarnesi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPod touch
    the terminal i found doesnt require to ever log in
    but i cant get into installer because it crashes and i ran out of disc space without knowing so when i tried to update filebrowser installer crashed in the middle and i was left with no file browser
    so basically ihave no ssh
    and i cant open installer and i cant use a finder
  7. Mortel

    Mortel Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Yea, that is a newer version. It automatically logs you in as "mobile", I believe, not "root", which is needed to run larger commands.

    Can you SSH through your computer, by any chance?
  8. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    Read my post above and it will work
  9. Greatnesss

    Greatnesss Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPod touch
    whenever i enter su root and alpine as pswd it says 'password incorect'. will the iphone.lenlolabs fix thing work on this?
  10. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    Thats exactly what the fix does. I have tested it and it works, I promise!

Share This Page