Taking Advantage of Jailbroken Devices in MonoTouch.

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by kbo206, Apr 25, 2010.

1. kbo206

kbo206 New Member

I'm fairly new to iPhone development and mainly utilizing MonoTouch so I can piggy-back off my previous C# experience. Can anyone out there please point me in the right direction, like a resource, to get started in this area. Even if it is done in Objective-C (yuck), I may still be able to tread through it. This could be anything as long as it takes advantage of jailbroken devices.

Thanks for anything and everything.
  2. SkylarEC

SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

What are you asking? What does "taking advantage of jailbroken devices" mean? What are you trying to do? What is MonoTouch.

Also, learn Objective-C.

If you're asking for resources on beginning programming for the iPhone, then check out http://developer.apple.com/iphone for all the information you need.
  3. kbo206

kbo206 New Member

Essentially, I'd like to see any form of resources that regard to jailbreak-only "tools" or uses. So I can build some simple apps that can utilize them. If this doesn't seem to make much sense (honestly it doesn't make much sense to me either) any resources regarding MonoTouch tutorials are appreciated.

Learning Objective-C isn't something I actually have time to do right now. And to be honest, I prefer the newer styles of languages like that of C# as opposed to Objective-C.
  4. CarlosTheJackl

CarlosTheJackl Member

I would still learn Objective-C, does apple still accept apps made my monotouch?
  5. NolesFans

NolesFans New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    I really don't think Apple approved C# applications.
  6. kbo206

kbo206 New Member

They were allowed, at first.

Objective-C just isn't a viable option for me. C# has spoiled me with its memory management and other .NET managed classes, and to be honest, Objective-C is an eyesore as far as syntax goes.
  7. Axis

Axis Super Moderator Staff Member