Symbolic Links

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X Jailbreak' started by Collateral, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. Collateral

    Collateral Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Has anyone tried moving their /Applications folder to /var and then sym linking it?
  2. crizh4x

    crizh4x Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,474
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    There is no need. Pwnage now has the ability to resize your system partition again. You do it under Expert mode.
  3. Collateral

    Collateral Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    do you have to re-restore?
  4. Nemes

    Nemes New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, since Pwnage can only generate fresh firmwares.
  5. Kurthis

    Kurthis New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, but i would like to have a "clean" system partition... with nothing else on it except the mobile osx.

    So I would love to here about smlinking apps on the media partition, cause cydia moans already on the first startup with its essential updates...

    btw i like the idea much more to have a bigger media partition where i can fiddle around, and not have to mess in the root partition...
  6. BysmuthMage

    BysmuthMage New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't tried that but I have moved my ~/Media/iTunes_Control and symlinked it back (so I could quickly switch between 2 libraries).

    and if that works I see no reason why /Applications shouldn't
  7. GeckoSlayer

    GeckoSlayer New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    No need to symlink, just update to newest cydia and restart cydia.


    But to answer your question, yes it does work.

Share This Page