Switch from 3G[S] to 4?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by magic8ball88, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. magic8ball88

    magic8ball88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Here's the story. I got an iPhone 3G December and my mom loves it so much she want to add a line to my plan (unlimited data) and get an iPhone 4 but they don't have my plan anymore. I talked to an AT&T guy and he said that what would happen would be I get the unlimited plan and the new line doesn't.

    Now you know the story here is my question. Is there anyway I could get my plan and line on the new iPhone 4 and she would get my 3G with the new plan?

    Before you say it, I know I sound like an awful child but she wants to get the 8gb 3G anyway.

    Thank you all.
  2. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    Can't you just.. put your SIM card in the iPhone 4 and her SIM card in the 3GS?
  3. magic8ball88

    magic8ball88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    That's what I was wondering/hoping. Are you sure that would work? I thought the iPhone 4 used the micro sim?
  4. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    Well, you can cut yours to micro SIM size. And for hers, I guess you can buy another SIM from AT&T and then activate it? I'm not exactly sure how it works but call them and say that you lost your phone or something and that you'll need a new SIM card and see what they can do.
  5. ripply

    ripply Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    You can cut your sim to fit in the iphone 4. Same thing people did with the ipad
  6. magic8ball88

    magic8ball88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Can AT&T just switch the lines for us?
  7. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    I'm not sure, you could ask them I guess.
  8. eff3ctz

    eff3ctz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Are you sure you're even using more than 2GB of data?

    I thought I used a TON of data and I only use 1GB.

    I got lucky though, the AT&T guy kept me on unlimited!
  9. magic8ball88

    magic8ball88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Yeah, I use an average of 5 gb or so.
  10. Gotanks0407

    Gotanks0407 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    when you get the iphone 4, go and get new sims from att, they give them out free, just get a new sim for both phone/lines, and put them in, that is what i did with my last iphone upgrade, and the original line gets to keep the unlimited data

Share This Page