Swap Mac Address's on iPod Touch 2G

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by hakkuo23, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. hakkuo23

    hakkuo23 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    First, I want to get onto my school network with my iPod Touch 2G so I can use Microsoft Exchange on the go without carrying my laptop around all the time. I can't register my mac address because to use the network, you have to download a CSA (Client Security Agent) and register the MAC address with it, but you couldn't run it on the iPod Touch.
    So I was thinking, what if I spoofed my MAC address on my laptop, registered that on the network, and then just put it back to default.
    Would this work?
    Please help, Thanks
  2. hakkuo23

    hakkuo23 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    is this really a tough question?
  3. beefstrudel

    beefstrudel Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    if u spoof the address on ur laptop correctly yes it will work
  4. Trackster40

    Trackster40 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    This is the exact problem that I am having and that I am inquiring about. I have to download the CSA as well but it says my ipod touch does not support this. I can connect to the network but cannot go anywhere because it always makes me go back to the "residence hall network policy" page

    Can you explain the process you are using to get it to work?
  5. hakkuo23

    hakkuo23 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Well the process I would do would go like this:
    First (on iPod) go to Settings, General, About and then you should see your MAC Address which is listed as your Wi-Fi Address
    Then FOR XP:
    Goto start - control panel - network connections
    Then right-click on the connection you are using and select Properties
    Then click the configure tab and then the configure button
    Next click on the Advanced tab and then look for the object that says Network Address
    Type in your iPod MAC Address and your done
    Then just register your computer as normal

    This is how you would do it, but I have a few questions
    First, would it follow my school's policy because it isn't against the rules but MAC Spoofing is, so I don't know if I should.

    EDIT: You might have to restart your computer for the MAC Address to change
    And to change it back, you just press Not Present button and Apply
  6. Trackster40

    Trackster40 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Ah I see thanks for explaining!

    I actually ended up using an AD-HOC network (just figured it out a few minutes ago) with my laptop plugged into the wall and connected wirelessly...named my own network, found it on my ipod and I was good to go. That might help if we are in a similar situation in which you can use an AD-HOC too.
  7. hakkuo23

    hakkuo23 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I could never get ad-hoc to work....
    When I connected my iPod to my ad-hoc network it still asked me to register both on the iPod and computer and when I registered on my computer it said "Invalid IP"
    So if anyone knows how to fix this, help me please.

Share This Page