Stupid Question

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by mattyboy31, Feb 22, 2008.

  1. mattyboy31

    mattyboy31 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey everyone, i just recently bought an 8 gig ipod touch and am interested in downgrading it from 1.1.3. to 1.1.1 to get the installer app. I have a quick question that some of you may be answer easily, and i just wanted to make sure what the answer would be before i started messing around with my ipod.

    When you downgrade your ipod, does it delete your songs off your itunes library or ipod, and does downgrading have any negative effects on the ipod?

    I would appreciate an answer from someone as soon as possible as i am eager to begin experimenting with my new ipod.
    Thanks, Mattyboy
  2. stabbyjoe12

    stabbyjoe12 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    umm no offence but you shouldnt be jailbreak if your unsure of these things but ill try to help you,
    yes you will lose you songs off your ipod but you will be able to get them back when you sync your ipod,
    no it doesnt
    but i recomend using ziphone because you wont have to downgrade heres a link the tutorials are stickied in jailbreaking
    http://www.ziphone.org/
    hope i helped

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. mattyboy31

    mattyboy31 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    THANK YOU STABBYJOE!

    your method is deffinitly the easiest way to go ive seen online
    thanks again
  4. Parrappa

    Parrappa New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    3
    You won't lose your songs. Also, why shouldn't he be doing it? Jailbreak is incredibly easy, just because he has a few questions doesn't give you the right to tell him he shouldn't.
  5. gorskino10

    gorskino10 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mine screwed up today so i just done this today.
    To downgrade you need to put your ipod into restore mode (there is a topic that has been stickied in this forum) i would go into "ipodtouchmaster" onto youtube and find his 1.13 -- 1.11 downgrade it tell you everything there.
    So putting your ipod to restore mode means you will WIPE EVERYTHING from your ipod, but its worth it to get installer though and how easy it is to jailbrake.
  6. Danls92

    Danls92 Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    209
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Downgrading will wipe all of your songs because you use the restore option. Upgrading won't, because you use the Update option.
  7. GarnetNGold

    GarnetNGold Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,846
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Yes it willl. Downgrading from 1.1.3 to 1.1.1 puts the device in DFU mode which is like restore mode. Upgrading doesn't because It doesn't overwrite the Media directory.
  8. stabbyjoe12

    stabbyjoe12 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    sorry mate but rude words i helped him a lot didnt you see his message,
    dont you dare abuse me for giving GOOD advice i didnt satte you cannot jailbreak i gave him an opinion becuase i dont want him to break his ipod,
    so in future look more at the awnser and think before you type rude mesages
  9. michigan033

    michigan033 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    9
    use ziphone since you are running a 8 gb.
  10. GarnetNGold

    GarnetNGold Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,846
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Not being a jerk but you can't brick a Touch.

    Also if if you want to jailbreak 1.1.3 with ZiPhone you need an 8GB because it has one SSD. Using a 16 or 32 and you will end up with the BSD root error.

Share This Page