Stuck in Recovery / Unknown Error 0xE800000A

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by quarantedeux, Feb 10, 2010.

  1. quarantedeux

    quarantedeux New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I've looked far and wide online for guidance with this problem and I would appreciate any help.
    I had been running my 8 gig touch on 3.1.2 firmware with the blackra1n tethered jailbreak for almost two months. I accidentally let it tun out of battery life the other day, so when I plugged it in I had to run blackra1n again. However, a message popped up reading "The application has failed to start because QTCF.dll was not found. Re-installing this application may fix this problem." Alas, re-installing did not work, nor did downloading the file anew online. So, my iPod was stuck in recovery mode. I proceeded to try to restore the iPod in iTunes (which would simultaneously update it to 3.1.3 firmware at the same time). However, after the restore process finished it was still in recovery mode, and an iTunes message popped up reading "iTunes could not connect to the iPod because an unknown error occurred (0xE800000A)." I have tried everything, rebooting, restoring with Felix Brun firmwares, everything to no avail. Each time the restoring process finishes the same error message pops up and the recovery screen is still on my iPod. I would appreciate any advice. Thank you.
  2. dunuck

    dunuck Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    ok here is what you gonna do

    update itunes to the latest version
    put your ipod in dfu mode
    shift+restore and use the firmware for ipod touch 2g

    and DO NOT restore from a backup
  3. quarantedeux

    quarantedeux New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I already put my ipod into dfu mode and shift-restored to firmware 3.1.2 for touch 2g without any luck... what do you mean "DO NOT restore from a backup?"
  4. dunuck

    dunuck Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    dont restore to the latest firmware! 3.1.3
    since apple stop signing 3.1.2


    oce the restore is done, itunes asks you if you want to restore from a backup, SAY NO

    do you have msn or something so i can give you some guidance
  5. quarantedeux

    quarantedeux New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    well I was not restoring to 3.1.3 I was restoring to 3.1.2, and it never prompted me about restoring from a backup... I don't have msn, I only have skype and gmail but I dont really want to post my name publicly, I could PM you though if you have either of those capabilities
  6. dunuck

    dunuck Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Dfu restore to fw 3.1.3, use ipod 2g firmware

    3.1.2 wont work
  7. Salax

    Salax New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Search your computer for QTFC.dll and put it into c:\WINDOWS\system32
    I had the same problem a few days ago.
  8. dunuck

    dunuck Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    And dfu restore to fw 3.1.3 not 3.1.2
  9. Salax

    Salax New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    No, you don't need to DFU restore at all.
    Ignore this guy.
  10. quarantedeux

    quarantedeux New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    There is no QTFC.dll when I search my computer

    Any idea on how I would go about finding this file or whatever it is?

    And dunuck, I'll try 2G 3.1.3, but isn't that the same as just hitting the restore button?

Share This Page