String in array

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by Chicken, Nov 2, 2008.

  1. Chicken

    Chicken Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    How can I collect the information from a string thats in an array ????
  2. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    What? Your question is incredibly confusing and unclear. All a string is is an array of chars. Are you asking how to get information from the string? Are you asking to get information from a string and get it into an array? Or, are you asking hot to get a string from an array?
  3. murphmanny

    murphmanny Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,250
    Likes Received:
    3
    why do you have to always get mad at people
    he always complains about what people are doing
    like i asked a question
    and i get a response telling me that i have no idea what i am doing, and that i need to read more tuts, and stuff

    like if they guy is not gonna give help, then don't write
  4. godogshomie

    godogshomie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    3
    he asked him to ask a more clear question, he wasn't bashing anyone.
  5. GrooveMachine

    GrooveMachine Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPod touch
    He didn't say you had no idea what you were doing, you just asked the question in a way that could be interpreted in several ways, and he wanted to know which way you were phrasing it. That's all.
  6. murphmanny

    murphmanny Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,250
    Likes Received:
    3
    he was telling ME that i had no idea what i was doing
  7. Nickll9009

    Nickll9009 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    8
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Because if YOU have NO idea about what your doing, then you MUST be stopped! If YOU aren't then YOU will make apps, that have leaks, an all sorts of other problems.
  8. murphmanny

    murphmanny Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,250
    Likes Received:
    3
    i was starting off making one of my first apps
    then HE comes in where I needed help, and says that i need to look around more, and such
    instead of acutally helping me
  9. Chicken

    Chicken Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    sorry for the huge confusion i need to get the information from a string
  10. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    You have a number of options:

    - (unichar)characterAtIndex

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    NSUInteger)index;
    - (void)getCharacters

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    unichar *)buffer;
    - (void)getCharacters

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    unichar *)buffer range

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    NSRange)aRange; //I'd use this one.
    - (BOOL)getBytes

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    void *)buffer maxLength

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    NSUInteger)maxBufferCount usedLength

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    NSUInteger *)usedBufferCount encoding

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    NSStringEncoding)encoding options

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    NSStringEncodingConversionOptions)options range

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    NSRange)range remainingRange

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    NSRangePointer)leftover;

    More information on each can be found here:
    http://developer.apple.com/document...lasses/NSString_Class/Reference/NSString.html

Share This Page