Storage allotments

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Zsnake, Apr 8, 2010.

1. Zsnake

Zsnake New Member

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Howdy,

I'm still new at this new-fangled techknowledgy, so excuse me if this is a basic question. I'm OLD!

When I went to I-tunes and did something,
    (I don't know what and couldn't duplicate it if I had to) it showed me the usage of my I-pod.
    Here's what it listed.......

Audio......3.23GB I don't disagree...lots of tunes
    Video......949.6MB What do I know?
    Photos.....118.7MB Sounds right
    Apps.......87.7MB
    OTHER......6.51GB WHAT THE HECK IS "OTHER?

free.......3.66GB

Sooooo the crux of the question is should I and how to delete "OTHER".

If that ain't enough to get you thinking, after I downloaded the new operation software, there was a new app on my unit called "Voice memos" that I cannot use since I have no microphone, and I can't get rid of it. No "X" apperas when I hold it and it jiggles.

THANKS very much for any help here!
  2. J-Phone

J-Phone Active Member

Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Do you have rock installed? Alot of jailbroken stuff?
    the voice memos is a apple default app, only way to get rid of is through ssh
  3. EkriirkE

EkriirkE Member

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    "other" tends to be jailbroken data - apps from cydia, saved downloads... anything not placed there by iTunes, essentially.
  4. Zsnake

Zsnake New Member

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    J-Phone...I looked up "Jailbreaking", and am not smart enough to do any of that, so Jailbreaking is not the answer. I don't know what "Rock" is except music from my generation. Thanks for answering...I'll just live with the voice memo icon.

EkriikE, I don't know if I saved any downloads or not...how do I find out? Where would they be? I have downloaded U-tube stuff, but once I delete the inbox letter, don't they just delete along with the message?

Told you I was new to this stuff.

Again, thanks for responding and the help.