starting into development

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by computerwiz_222, Jan 7, 2008.

1. computerwiz_222

computerwiz_222 New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    I am very new at developing apps (Hello world new....) is it possible to jump right into objective-C or shoudl I learn C first.

Any help and beginning websites are appreciated...
  2. galen

galen New Member

Well, Objective-C is just an object oriented layer built on top of C. So in order to use it, you do need to know how to use C first. Thats not a problem though as C is really simple to learn and use. Plus there are a ton of "learn C in a day/week/month" books out there that can be found for pretty cheap. You can even find a few websites that feature lots of tutorials and lessons for free. When you think you have a basic grasp on writing simple comand line programs, go to developer.apple.com and look up their docs on Objective-C. It should be notied that since OSX is a Unix flavor, any books you find about developing on it will most likely work on Mac too. I find Objective-C to be much more friendly then C++ but it is quite different from the rest of the object oriented languages. This is because it takes its object model from SmallTalk. SmallTake is a really great language conceptually but never really caught on I think because it's syntax can seem kind of obscure and strange. Once you get the hang of it though its really simple. To me I find that it presents the ideas of object oriented programing in a much simpler way then C++. I think that there are a lot of really overtly complex issues with C++ which simply don't exsist in Objective-C. That could just be me though.

Please Register or Log in to view images

At any rate, pick up a simple book on C and in a week or so you'll be ready for Objective-C.
  3. computerwiz_222

Device:
    iPod touch
    awesome thank's so much...

I've been looking for a straight up answer to this question for a while!
  4. stabbyjoe12

stabbyjoe12 Member