SSH Question

Discussion in 'iPod touch 2G Jailbreak: redsn0w, 24kpwn, etc.' started by iCrap, Feb 27, 2009.

  1. iCrap

    iCrap Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,639
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    My iPod always changes IP adresses, its really anoying. why

    how do i cange the SSH PW

    i saw somewhere you can run mobileterminal comands through SSH. how.
  2. kabage

    kabage New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Stuff

    My iPod always changes IP adresses, its really anoying. why
    Dynamic Ip Addressing will change when turned off or lease is up.
    how do i cange the SSH PW
    ssh into you ipod
    1. Type su enter
    2. then put in current password (Alpine or alpine probably) and enter
    3. Type passwd enter
    4. Follow prompts

    i saw somewhere you can run mobileterminal comands through SSH. how.
    As above those are terminal commands, anything that works in mobile terminal will work in SSH. Can probably set the ipods ip to static configuration somewhere. Try a search. But dynamic is good for roaming around the world.

    Edit: some commands only available to super user, hence the su command
  3. iCrap

    iCrap Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,639
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Ok makes sense, but where is the SSH terminal?
  4. dudeitsriley

    dudeitsriley Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    1
    what SSH terminal?
    He was talking about running commands FROM mobileterminal.
  5. seanG

    seanG Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,746
    Likes Received:
    14
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    In WinSCP press ctrl+t.
  6. kabage

    kabage New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    My bad used to linux forums

    dudeitsriley , I was actually talking about from a linux or (probably mac too since they are both posix compliant) , my bad I forget sometimes that a lot of windoze users in this forum.

    Whatever seang5041 said will probably work for you, to bring up a screen on your computer that is in a secure shell terminal.
  7. dudeitsriley

    dudeitsriley Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ohhhhhhh ok

Share This Page