SSH Problem HELP!

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 3.0 Jailbreak' started by frnkyn, Nov 4, 2009.

  1. frnkyn

    frnkyn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    9
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I have a 3rd gen 32gb and I want to ssh without wifi.

    All of the programs I hav tried (Total Commander, iPhone Browser, iFunBox) only allow you to see the normal stuff like Music folders and photos and stuff.

    I wanna get deeper in like the root? or for ex. root/var/mobile stuff like that.

    So how would I do that?
  2. C4NNIBAL

    C4NNIBAL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    23
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    I'm sure it's obvious, but you must be jailbroken to go into the root partition of your iPod.
    You also must have OpenSSH installed from Cydia. After that, reboot your iPod (just in case, I've heard some cases where OpenSSH didn't work properly until the user rebooted; plus, it shouldn't be a problem for you since you have a 32GB, not an 8GB), and try to re-connect to your iPod using the program of your choice.
  3. frnkyn

    frnkyn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    9
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Its jailbroken, i tried rebooting, doesn't work
    Ive been trying to use iphone tunnel suite and winscp but both tell me "software caused connection abort"
  4. Gershmer

    Gershmer Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Did you install afc2add?
  5. LssThanThree

    LssThanThree Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    If you jailbroke with Blackra1n, you must install afc2add from Cydia to see the file system
  6. frnkyn

    frnkyn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    9
    Device:
    iPod touch
    cwap i dun hav wifi
  7. LssThanThree

    LssThanThree Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
  8. C4NNIBAL

    C4NNIBAL Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    23
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    There's a manual edit you can do instead where you just modify a .plist
    I'll go find the post, then edit this one to point you in the right direction.

    EDIT: Alright, I found the unofficial blackra1n FAQ, and it gives the solution there.

    http://www.ifans.com/forums/showpost.php?p=1899182&postcount=1
    At the bottom of the post, there's instructions on the manual way.

Share This Page