ssh movies and music

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by MaximumMax, Oct 10, 2008.

1. MaximumMax

MaximumMax New Member

my gf has jailbroke our i touch and we have figured out how to ssh into the i touch but am unsure as to where to put the video file and music files. there are lots of tutorials on getting ssh to work but nothing on where to put the file in the file system on the i touch.we have tryed a few places but they are not being seen on the video file icon on the springboard
  2. jpga13

jpga13 Banned

Device:
    iPad 3
    Put them in iTunes and sync
  3. MaximumMax

MaximumMax New Member

We know how to use iTunes... I would like to use WinSCP to transfer mp4 and mp3 to the ipod touch without having to sync via the iTunes app. I just need to know what folders the files (mp4 and mp3) get put into in the ipod touch's OS.

I'm a total noob as far as unix is concerned.

Thank you.
  4. iPTF_BROWSER

iPTF_BROWSER Active Member

Device:
    HTC One
    /var/mobile/Media/iTunes_Control/

All the folders in there, they aren't named correctly just by numbers, I think F0 or something like that is videos.
  5. Jarlath

Jarlath Retired Moderator

That won't put the files into the library, IIRC, since iTunes deliberately scrambles around things so that if they're not in a playlist, they won't show up... nor will they appear in the library on the iPod until synced on. This was a measure put in early on to prevent people from using their iPods as portable pirating music machines; the effort mostly failed, but it still made it inconvenient to transfer music back and forth.
  6. Teslanaut

Teslanaut Well-Known Member

Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Why would you want to transfer music and videos via SSH?

USB is a LOT faster and you can organize it quite well with iTunes.
  7. MaximumMax

MaximumMax New Member