iOS 4.0 SSH help (iOS 4.1 on 3rd gen itouch)

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by Shawn7656, Oct 28, 2010.

  1. Shawn7656

    Shawn7656 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been trying to SSH into my ipod since I got it over a year ago. I gave up back then as I didn't really feel the need to do it. Now I would really like to get in and start installing things and editing things through SSH.
    I have openSSH installed
    I have automaticSSH installed
    I have tried winSCP using wifi and USB connection
    I have tried puTTY using wifi and USB connection
    I have tried iTunnel, and iTunnel Suite
    I can get iphonebrowser and ifunbox to work but they don't have the functionality that I need (like being able to add directories so you can install apps).
    I'm using SBSettings to toggle SSH as BossPrefs won't stay open on my ipod (loads then crashes, I"m not sure if it's compatible with 4.1)
    I always get either "Network error: Connection timed out" or ...

    Wow... I have to stop there.. for some AMAZING reason as I was doing a "login" attempt to recreate the fail messages it logged in... I'm going to post this thread just for the irony, mods can feel free to delete.

    I've been working at this for about two and a half hours straight btw...
  2. Bigray14719

    Bigray14719 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Make sure the ipod stays on. Disable autolock.

    Install latest version of winscp and openssh.
    Ive never heard of automatic ssh. I dont use it. I ssh my ipod all the time.

    Use your ip address off sbsettings, make sure wifi and ssh are on. No need for a usb cable.
    username is root
    default password is alpine. If you changed it, youll know.

    Good luck
  3. Shawn7656

    Shawn7656 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well that was short-lived. It's back at it.. I had it working for a whole two minutes and then it lost connection. I got it to reconnect for about 20 more seconds and then the program closed. I reopened it and tried reconnecting and it's playing the same old games. I click "login" and then it sits there "not responding" for awhile, only to come back in about 15 seconds saying the connection timed out. I have the timeout setting set to 180 seconds just so I would know it's not the issue.

    It seems if I let it sit and fail connection about 20 times it works but only for about 2 minutes, and then loses connection. Is there any way to fix THIS problem? lol


    Sorry if these posts are confusing haha


    EDIT:
    @Bigray: I shall delete it. It's supposed to auto-refresh the connection to keep it from timing out... Seems to be working wonders lmao
  4. Bigray14719

    Bigray14719 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Is your wifi intermittent or weak?

    I would uninstall automaticssh.

    Diasble autolock on ipod. when the ipod lock you can often lose connection.

    Try reinstalling openssh and winscp to their latest versions.

    the problem is a bad connection which could mean a problem in either program or a problem in your wifi.

    Try a few upgrades and check back
  5. Shawn7656

    Shawn7656 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just installed winSCP yesterday (I have moved from Vista to Win7 since then and the old winSCP that I had is long gone.)
    I have also reinstalled openSSH a few times today and removed automaticSSH

    It might be my wifi, but I doubt it. I have a "68" connectivity and "three bars" if I switch it to the normal view. My computer has 3/5 bars

    Auto-lock is also off

    EDIT:

    Is there anything significant about winSCP not responding ALL the time? Every time it loses connection it "stops responding" first. And when it is connecting it says "not responding" and then will go to the "connection error" pop-up
  6. Bigray14719

    Bigray14719 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    you have both wifi and ssh toggled on?

    Im lost, you may try disabling antivirus which may be intefering.
  7. Shawn7656

    Shawn7656 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I'll try that I guess. I have them both toggled and and I"m not touching the ipod at all when it's connected (but it's not on standby, it's at the Springboard)

    Thanks for your quick replies
  8. Bigray14719

    Bigray14719 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Ive never had this much trouble with ssh.
    Hopefully someone can offer you more help.
    Good luck

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  9. Shawn7656

    Shawn7656 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems to not timeout as long as I actively move around in the program. If I let it sit for awhile it times out and stops responding and I have to restart the ridiculous process over again

    I guess I'll deal with it for now, as long as it works haha
  10. Bigray14719

    Bigray14719 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    how long is " a while"?

    I can still on one page for 20 to 30 mins without any lose of connection.

Share This Page