SSH Help -_-

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by imranh101, Dec 5, 2009.

  1. imranh101

    imranh101 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    24
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    Hay gais.
    I love Rock but now p***ed as hell at it.
    A couple week backs it asked me if i wanted to change ssh password and I thought why not, because I know what people can do with it
    So I entered something and pressed accept or whatever
    rock tries for a minute, then gives up and says it couldn't change the password so i thougt it would stay alpine
    Now, I need to use root commands, and i dont remember what the password is and its not alpine
    And I looked on youtube and the answer requires winscp sshing which apparently got its password changed too.
    NOW WHAT?!
  2. Cydiaia

    Cydiaia Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone
    apparently you can change your password with mobile terminal. correct me if im wrong lol.
  3. LssThanThree

    LssThanThree Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    To change your password type in
    su
    alpine
    passwd
  4. imranh101

    imranh101 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    24
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    Wrong.
    I opened Rock and it asked me to change password, gave me a dialog box so I thought sure. It was NOT terminal. It was all Rock's doing.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    alpine doesnt work thats the problem
  5. Cydiaia

    Cydiaia Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone
    oh :/. sorry cant help you then.
  6. imranh101

    imranh101 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    24
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    HOLY GOD
    THANK YOU (kinda cause it was your fault originally) ROCK
    I decided to poke around with iFile, because it doesnt need a password
    And in the etc folder was master.passd

    AND MASTER.PASSWD.OLD

    YAAAA! Deleted master.passwd, renamed the old, and restarted and voila i have alpine
  7. iOwnxD

    iOwnxD New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    glad i could help you

Share This Page